Apple-Cranberry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by JPMJ
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I halved the recipe and cooked it in a glass loaf pan. I omitted the pecans and added a few extra cranberries. I will definitely make it again-- the fruit is tangy and delicious, and the topping is perfect. Next time I might omit the white sugar and replace half or all of the Granny Smiths with Golden Delicious to increase the natural sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Great, got rave reviews, I did add more cranberries.. The second time I made it I doubled the amount of apples/cranberries and tripled the topping because it was such a hit..everyone asked for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chargis1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I read the reviews first and added more cranberries. I enjoyed it very much. If you want a tart crisp this is definitely that. If you want a sweeter crisp I would recommend using a sweeter apple and use the recipe's amount of cranberries. I served it with vanilla ice cream and the combination of tart and sweetness was really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
EXCELLENT!! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalex0616

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This is fabulous! I used more cranberries, and less cinnamon and sugar. Also doubled the topping. I used melted butter in the topping and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was great. I did double the topping, since my family likes crisp that way, other than that followed the recipe. Served it for thanksgiving dessert, but it was even better for breakfast cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Winters, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Delicious! I left out the pecans in the crumble topping and used oil instead of the butter. I made doubled the fruit and made 5x the topping (reduced the oil/butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Wow, this was great. I doubled the filling (generous with the apples), and tripled the topping, then used a 9x13 pan. I am not a big fan of nutmeg, so I substituted Pumpkin Pie Spice (might also try dried ginger next time). Also, I used half brown sugar in the filling. This is a keeper, soon to be a holiday favorite in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was heavenly! I loved the rich, tangy sauce that formed underneath, and the cranberries made it so pretty. Many reviewers have suggested making more of the topping, but I disagree; the fruit is the main event here, and I thought the proportions were just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
So yummy! Love that it's different than your basic apple crisp with the cranberries for tartness and beautiful color. I "1 1/2x'd" the recipe, using 6 apples (3 red/3 green) and sliced them as well as cut the sliced pieces to "fit" better onto a big spoonful of a bite ; ) - also combined the topping mix, sprinkled that on top then poured melted butter over it, rather than cutting the butter (that never works for me - always end up with dry patches.) Such a great fall dessert with vanilla ice cream and a cold glass of milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States