Apple-Cranberry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
Too much nutmeg is called for. The topping was dry and gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
I brought it to a party and it was a hit. Everyone liked it and upon my solicitation, had comments for tweaking the recipe based on their personal liking for cranberries. The recipe is forgiving regarding amounts. Followed directions but inadvertently added a few extra apples (I used Jonagold). I also chopped up a portion of the cranberries and left the rest whole. The chopped cranberries "disappeared" into the apples. The whole cranberries were more beautiful - but tart for those unfamiliar with cranberries in desserts. Next time I will leave more of the cranberries whole. By the way, even if I followed the recipe exactly, I think the crisp calls for a larger baking dish than 8x8. The recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
My husband claims he does not like cooked apples. He loved this dessert! Said he did not realize he was eating apples until I told him. We loved the tartness of the cranberries - and they are tart. Very easy to make - don't worry if measurements of apples and cranberries aren't exact - it still comes out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
Really good! I made it for thanksgiving, but instead of whole cranberries, I used jellied cranberries (homemade), a little more liquidy, but calmed the tartness without killing it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
This was a delicious way to use the plentiful fall apples. I used walnuts and macintosh apples because that was what I had on hand. It smelled soooo good cooking in the oven. Very good seved with Vanilla ice cream. Thanks Christina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
The cranberries were a nice addition to our Thanksgiving dessert. I actually liked the tartness of the cranberries. I often find apple crisp too sweet. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
This was a great recipe. The cranberries added a tartness that made it perfect. The only thing I found I didn't like was the amount of apples. Too many apples, too little topping, but I like the topping, so will cut back on the apples next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
This recipe was tasty, but the apples and crumble topping were a little dry in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
This is delicious. At first I thought there was too much cinammon, but after it baked and was all bubbly and the apple and cranberry juices mixed with the cinammon, it was wonderful!The topping was perfect--I was out of nuts, so omitted them--and it was still good. I wouldn't change a thing. By the way, the recipe doesn't specify whether or not to chop up the cranberries, don't---they would almost disappear if you did---they sort of "explode" as they bake, and make wonderful juice--and still contribute to the texture of the dish. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACINDARN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
The basis of this recipe is great however I modified a few things just as a matter of convenience. I used two cans of canned apples and one bag of cranberries (same area you would find raisins in at grocery store). instead of fresh. Due to the sugar already in the canned apples I omitted the white sugar from the recipe. I also used sliced almonds instead of pecans. This was a wonderful quick dessert that everyone loved. I served with cool whip. Would absolutely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States