Apple-Cranberry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This was great! I believe in using the original recipe first run, but was forced to make two changes on the topping that did work due to ingredients on hand. I had regular oats on hand and not quick cooking ones. I used 1/2 pecans and 1/2 sliced almonds. Both were perfectly fine as a substitute. I followed everything else as written and believe a little less cinnamon would be more preferred by me. It was great with vanilla ice-cream and a wonderful tart treat! This recipe is a keeper and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly and I was completely underwhelmed by this recipe (as was the rest of the family). It just didn't turn out for some reason. It was watery and unappetizing. No one even ate the leftovers. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I tripled the crumb part based on other reviews. Who doesn't love more crumb? It was delicious!!!!! Quite the hit at my dinner party. Definitely will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This was just a little tart. But still very good. Made just as written. Will make this again. No one complained. Maybe add some ice cream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This was delicious. I made a double batch in a 9 by 13 glass dish. The apples and the cranberries with the cinnamon and nutmeg all mixed together and gooey under that nice crisp crust... AMAZING!! It was definitely a big hit. I also made a regular batch using 1/2 cup raisins instead of cranberries. Equally as good for those who do not care for cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Everything worked out as described, following recipe as written. I will modify it in just one way next time and that is to reduce the cinnamon. I use saigon cinnamon it was just too spicy and not as pleasant texture wise if it had less. I could probably use just half the amount and it would be plenty strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Awesome. I used glutenfree ingredients. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Used half white and half brown sugar, a bit more cranberries than called for, some cut in half and the rest whole, plus doubled the topping. Also doubled the entire recipe and made this in 10" x 13" pan, and it turned out phenomenally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
We love this dessert however in order to cover the entire dessert we have to double the oat topping. I also add a bit of orange zest and fresh squeezed orange juice to the apple mixture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I put the filling into small pastry cups and made tarts out of it and they were awesome!!! Topped with a scoop of French vanilla ice cream and it was the first dessert gone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattieMelt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ackley, Iowa, USA
Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States