Apple-Cran-Cherry Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
OK I admit I was a bit wary, being I hate cranberries, so I halved the recipe. Now I wish I made the full recipe. The cookies came out moist and delicious, with a little bit of tang. Kinda like an apple cranberry muffin... I didn't have any cardamom or whatever it was called so I left it out, they still came out wonderful. I will definitely make them again. I made these as a snack for a road trip, they are filling because of the oatmeal and healthy as well. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Fantastic ! I absolutely loved them, while my husband was less enthusiastic, but then I do the baking and we eat very few sweets. In fact, after the inital taste test, the rest of the recipe is headed to IRAQ in a goodie box for a great friend who's stationed there. He & his crew love oatmeal, so this should definitely fit the bill; and the tartness of the dried fruit is perfect. The recipe will be on my replay list. The only change I made to the recipe was to use a whole jar of chunky applesauce rather than the smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NONA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
I increased the amount of cardamom to 1/2 tsp, replaced the cinnamon with 1/2 tsp allspice and 1/2 tsp nutmeg, added 1/2 cup extra flour, and let the mixture sit overnight in the fridge. (I added the extra flour because my homemade applesauce was a bit thin.) The cookies turned out very tasty and were a big hit. The cardamom really does make a difference; if you can't get it at your local supermarket, it can be ordered from online spice stores. It's really worth it. I'll probably make these again if I have kids coming over, but next time I'll chop the dried cherries and cranberries before adding them to make a more even mixture. I'll also bake the cookies at a slightly lower temperature for a longer period of time, since even with the extra flour they're still a bit soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Wow, we love these! They are very filling cookies. I used soy bean oil in place of half of the butter, it is a healthier fat. Mine turned out very moist, not cake-like at all, but it may be because I used the oil. I added some white chocolate chips in one third of the batch, dark chocolate chips in another third, and one third with no chips. Our favorite was the white chocolate chip batch. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2004
These cookies have just enough butter to keep them from tasting too 'healthy'. I followed the instructions exactly (except for the cardamom, which I didn't have). The taste is excellent, like those soft brekfast bars you can buy at the stores. They don't seem to spread at all though, so I flattened them slightly before baking to make them look more like cookies and less like haystacks. This one's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHILICAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Awesome! I couldn't find any dried cranberries, so I used copped dried apricots, and they are delish!! I brought 2 dozen to work :) Oh, and I've never used cardamom in this recipe. I never have any on-hand! UPDATE: When I make this recipe, I often use a combination of dried apricots, cranberries and raisins. SO yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
Very tasty. I like that there are no eggs in the recipe. The cookies cooked up nicely, a little cake-y, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZMIKCOWGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I'm from Italy and I tried this cookies last saturday. I omit the spices because my family don't like cinnamon, and the cardamom is difficult to find here as dried cherries and brown sugar. So I halved the recipes and used only dried cranberries and demerara sugar. I think they're very good cookies, but a bit too sweet . They're great with a good cappuccino for breakfast and after dinner with a glass of milk. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
I made these cookies for the first time and brought them to a party; they were all gone by the end of the night! I did use half-white-half-wheat flour, which added a nice wheaty flavor. Out of necessity I used orange- and cherry-flavored dried cranberries and cinnamon-flavored applesauce (instead of separate cinnamon), all of which worked just fine. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I was skeptical when I was in the process of making these. In part, because it didn't really look like cookie dough, and also because I made another "breakfast cookie" from this site that had pretty good reviews and it was not good, imo. But this one is FANTASTIC! I didn't have cranberry's, so I subbed raisins. I used the dried cherries (cut them in 1/2, b/c I'm feeding them to my little guys). I used pumpkin pie spice because I didn't have any cardormom, and I kept the original amt. of cinnamon, even with the pumpkin pie spice. I also added a splash of vanilla extract. These are so, so, so good. I kid you not. I formthem into little patty's with my hands before baking them - and only bake them for 10 mins max! They'll keep baking after you take them out of the oven, so don't over bake them and dry them out. I keep mine in a tupperware container or large freezer bags, throw a piece of bread in the bag to keep them moist through out the week- although they don't last a whole wk in my home. EDIT: I used apple cider today instead of apple sauce, as it's all I had. Took it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States