Apple-Cran-Cherry Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2001
i don't think they're very low in fat but they do taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
OK I admit I was a bit wary, being I hate cranberries, so I halved the recipe. Now I wish I made the full recipe. The cookies came out moist and delicious, with a little bit of tang. Kinda like an apple cranberry muffin... I didn't have any cardamom or whatever it was called so I left it out, they still came out wonderful. I will definitely make them again. I made these as a snack for a road trip, they are filling because of the oatmeal and healthy as well. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
Very tasty. I like that there are no eggs in the recipe. The cookies cooked up nicely, a little cake-y, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZMIKCOWGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
I made these cookies for the first time and brought them to a party; they were all gone by the end of the night! I did use half-white-half-wheat flour, which added a nice wheaty flavor. Out of necessity I used orange- and cherry-flavored dried cranberries and cinnamon-flavored applesauce (instead of separate cinnamon), all of which worked just fine. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
These were really yummy, (I used a heart-healthy margarine substitute for the butter) and certainly healthier than most of the other x-mas cookies at the cookie exchange. The only complaint I had was that they were awfully chewy, but that may have been because of the butter substitution. Otherwise, super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2004
These cookies have just enough butter to keep them from tasting too 'healthy'. I followed the instructions exactly (except for the cardamom, which I didn't have). The taste is excellent, like those soft brekfast bars you can buy at the stores. They don't seem to spread at all though, so I flattened them slightly before baking to make them look more like cookies and less like haystacks. This one's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHILICAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
I increased the amount of cardamom to 1/2 tsp, replaced the cinnamon with 1/2 tsp allspice and 1/2 tsp nutmeg, added 1/2 cup extra flour, and let the mixture sit overnight in the fridge. (I added the extra flour because my homemade applesauce was a bit thin.) The cookies turned out very tasty and were a big hit. The cardamom really does make a difference; if you can't get it at your local supermarket, it can be ordered from online spice stores. It's really worth it. I'll probably make these again if I have kids coming over, but next time I'll chop the dried cherries and cranberries before adding them to make a more even mixture. I'll also bake the cookies at a slightly lower temperature for a longer period of time, since even with the extra flour they're still a bit soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This was sooo good! I didn't have cardamom but I spiced it like I would apple pie. I added diced apples and omited the cherries. I did add some salt since I changed the spices. Just bake the first batch then change recipe to your tastes. EVERYONE in the family loved these (and that's saying something).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I'm from Italy and I tried this cookies last saturday. I omit the spices because my family don't like cinnamon, and the cardamom is difficult to find here as dried cherries and brown sugar. So I halved the recipes and used only dried cranberries and demerara sugar. I think they're very good cookies, but a bit too sweet . They're great with a good cappuccino for breakfast and after dinner with a glass of milk. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Very nice cookie. I tried many oatmeal cookies now and they never turn out Right. Honestly, this wasn't what i was searching for either, but it was a pleasant surprise. Nice and chewy. I think i made em a bit too big, cause i did have to cook them for 20 minutes, but it still made an exact 125 cookies. I couldn't find dried cherries, so i just added some raisins with the cranberries and i love them. I will definately be making these again. Update: will make a lot less next time. They lose their crispiness within a day and get kinda old soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States