Apple-Cran-Cherry Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Wow, we love these! They are very filling cookies. I used soy bean oil in place of half of the butter, it is a healthier fat. Mine turned out very moist, not cake-like at all, but it may be because I used the oil. I added some white chocolate chips in one third of the batch, dark chocolate chips in another third, and one third with no chips. Our favorite was the white chocolate chip batch. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Awesome! I couldn't find any dried cranberries, so I used copped dried apricots, and they are delish!! I brought 2 dozen to work :) Oh, and I've never used cardamom in this recipe. I never have any on-hand! UPDATE: When I make this recipe, I often use a combination of dried apricots, cranberries and raisins. SO yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This was SO good - I used this for my plan of mixing raisins, dried cranberries and chocolate chips into an oatmeal cookie. (I used 1 cup of each.) All of my children were going crazy for these yummy cookies and I feel really good about the balance of ingredients compared to the usual cookie recipe we use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
These were nice! I used very low-fat sunflower spread in place of the butter, missed out the cranberries (I had none) and added in chopped walnuts to give it a bit more crunch! Mine took about 15 minutes to do. I'd never baked with applesauce before, so I found it a bit hard to tell when they were done. I waited until they'd gone nice and golden on top, but not too dark. I left them to cool on wire racks, although they were lovely warm! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Fantastic ! I absolutely loved them, while my husband was less enthusiastic, but then I do the baking and we eat very few sweets. In fact, after the inital taste test, the rest of the recipe is headed to IRAQ in a goodie box for a great friend who's stationed there. He & his crew love oatmeal, so this should definitely fit the bill; and the tartness of the dried fruit is perfect. The recipe will be on my replay list. The only change I made to the recipe was to use a whole jar of chunky applesauce rather than the smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NONA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Very nice cookie. I tried many oatmeal cookies now and they never turn out Right. Honestly, this wasn't what i was searching for either, but it was a pleasant surprise. Nice and chewy. I think i made em a bit too big, cause i did have to cook them for 20 minutes, but it still made an exact 125 cookies. I couldn't find dried cherries, so i just added some raisins with the cranberries and i love them. I will definately be making these again. Update: will make a lot less next time. They lose their crispiness within a day and get kinda old soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I'm from Italy and I tried this cookies last saturday. I omit the spices because my family don't like cinnamon, and the cardamom is difficult to find here as dried cherries and brown sugar. So I halved the recipes and used only dried cranberries and demerara sugar. I think they're very good cookies, but a bit too sweet . They're great with a good cappuccino for breakfast and after dinner with a glass of milk. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This was sooo good! I didn't have cardamom but I spiced it like I would apple pie. I added diced apples and omited the cherries. I did add some salt since I changed the spices. Just bake the first batch then change recipe to your tastes. EVERYONE in the family loved these (and that's saying something).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
I increased the amount of cardamom to 1/2 tsp, replaced the cinnamon with 1/2 tsp allspice and 1/2 tsp nutmeg, added 1/2 cup extra flour, and let the mixture sit overnight in the fridge. (I added the extra flour because my homemade applesauce was a bit thin.) The cookies turned out very tasty and were a big hit. The cardamom really does make a difference; if you can't get it at your local supermarket, it can be ordered from online spice stores. It's really worth it. I'll probably make these again if I have kids coming over, but next time I'll chop the dried cherries and cranberries before adding them to make a more even mixture. I'll also bake the cookies at a slightly lower temperature for a longer period of time, since even with the extra flour they're still a bit soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2004
These cookies have just enough butter to keep them from tasting too 'healthy'. I followed the instructions exactly (except for the cardamom, which I didn't have). The taste is excellent, like those soft brekfast bars you can buy at the stores. They don't seem to spread at all though, so I flattened them slightly before baking to make them look more like cookies and less like haystacks. This one's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHILICAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States