Apple Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
These cookies are like taking a bite of cake. They are wonderfully light and fluffy. I substituted butter flavored shortening for the regular shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
I needed a cookie to take to the assisted living facility where my grandma lives. I chose these because they were different. I omited the walnuts and added 1 cup of cinnamon chips. They were wonderful. The ladies are still raving about these cookies. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2000
I liked this recipe. I do think I will add a little cinnamon next time just for a little more zip. To me, cinnamon and apples compliment each other. A soft cookie, don't keep tightly closed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This was pretty good. I only used half the sugar because I added a cinnamon spice drizzle on top, which made it just sweet enough. I only used 4 Tbls. of butter instead of 1/2 cup shortening. I also added 1 tsp. cinnamon powder as suggested by another member. I think I would double the apple next time because I really couldn't taste any. The batter is very dry until the apples are added, then it becomes more like a drop batter. I used parchment instead of a greased cookie sheet and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I think this recipe is a good starting base for apple cookies for me. After reading through the reviews I changed the recipe as follows. I used 2 chopped apples, added 1 tsp vanilla, 2 pinches of ground nutmeg, 1 tbsp cinnamon and sprinkled in extra flour, wheat germ and oatmeal to compensate for the extra apple. I omitted the walnuts (I didn't have any on hand) and the raisins (my kids aren't really raisin fans)and I only used 1 cup of brown sugar. I then baked 3 cookies as test cookies to see how they would turn out. They turned out really soft and moist but still lacking in flavor. So I sprinkled in some more cinnamon and 2 pinches of nutmeg. They were better. I think next time though, and there will be a next time, I will use applesauce instead of milk and see how that goes. Oh and I also baked them in a preheated oven at 350F for 12 minutes, I've never baked cookies at 400F before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Awesome cookies, the softest cookies I have every made! I would suggest adding a bit more apple than just a cup, and we added about a tsp of cinnamon to the recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
These are pretty tasty. I took other reviews into account and added homemade applesauce in addition to the apples, and cut the sugar down. I omitted the walnuts/raisins and used butter. Will def. make again if I have spare apples to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Very good. I enjoyed them very much. I did, however, use 1/3 C sugar less. They turned out rather nice. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
ssooooooo yummy these are my favorite cookies ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy6425

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Corinne K.
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
These are really good. To add to the value, I added 1 Tbs. of flax seed. Thanks for the great recipe. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States