Apple Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Perfect coleslaw for those who like a creamy sweet version - like me! I used apple cider vinegar instead of white, nearly 4T of mayonaisse, and didn't use the pineapple juice (not something I generally have on hand). To the folks who found that their coleslaw was sitting in a watery, soupy mess after a while, here's the way to stop that from happening: After you've shredded the cabbage, toss it with 1t salt in a colander. Let sit over a bowl or in the sink for an hour or so. 4C of cabbage will have sweated about 1/2C of liquid by that point! Rinse the cabbage, drain, and dry with paper towels. Proceed with recipe and get thick creamy slaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by libbylovespluto

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Very tasty, but for children, I would decrease the black pepper to 1/2 tsp. Also added another 1T. mayo and dressing is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Delicious. I made some changes: double (at least) the dressing. Do NOT use low-fat mayonnaise (I should've known that) and mix mayo with brown sugar before adding liquids for creamier results (otherwise gets curdled appearance, even when using a whisk). I added pineapple tidbits. I left skins on apples (used 2) and chopped in shape similar to pineapple tidbits. I garnished with apples slices and pineapple tidbits on top so everyone would know the unusual ingredients were in there. Next time I might add FRESH parsley. Very yummy. Dressing was very light, nice alternative to the heavy mayo or the vinegar dressings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dayton, Iowa, USA
Photo by maryb
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
What a clever take on coleslaw! The honey, apple and pineapple give it wonderful flavor, much lighter than traditional coleslaw. I had a fresh pineapple on hand, so I added about 1/2 cup of that, finely diced. I subbed cider vinegar for the white, but I'm sure it would be equally good either way. To make it a main dish salad, I chopped up a grilled chicken breast and added it in. A very delicious way to eat my fruits and vegetables, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
We loved the flavor of this "sauce" for the coleslaw. We didn't want an overwhelming mayo flavor and this was perfect though I made some changes in the ingredients due to the items I had on hand. Unfortunately I didn't have pineapple juice or an apple but the juice would have been an excellent tropical addition. I added 2 green onions, utilizing all the green parts and the white part of one. I added 2 stalks of celery, finely sliced. I also had garlic rice vinegar so I substituted that as well. I added Mrs. Dash and salt in the seasonings. It was a great side dish to accompany our hamburgers. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lace
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
This is a great tasting coleslaw. Nice and light, with a touch of sweetness. Pineapple juice adds good flavor. Definitely great in sandwiches! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
not fantastic, but not terrible either. I added an extra mayonnaise, as the requested amount didn't come close to coating all the slaw ingredients (i only added an extra 2 tablespoons to achieve this) I let it sit for 3 hours before serving and it had oozed heeps of liquid - it was swimming in it!! A good idea, but I will keep searching for the perfect recipe for me and my families taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
It's a good cole slaw, but I like the ramen noodle/almonds/sesame seeds kind of coleslaw better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
Awesome taste! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Excellent flavor and textures. I had to use apple cider vinegar as it was all I had on hand. I used the pineapple juice from a can of pineapple chunks (reserved the chunks for a school snack). One tablespoon isn't enough to make the coleslaw taste "pineappley". If you like a more creamier coleslaw, add another tablespoon or 2 of mayo. If you prefer your slaw to be zippier, add a little more vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States