Apple Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
crunchy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I made this recipe as a side with Barbeque Pork Two Ways (on allrecipes). It was very light and more like a salad, which both my guests and I enjoyed. The only substitution I made was that I did not peel the apple, I left the skin on. Great for a summer food or light side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Good, should probably let it rest for a few hours before serving to meld the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maryb
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
What a clever take on coleslaw! The honey, apple and pineapple give it wonderful flavor, much lighter than traditional coleslaw. I had a fresh pineapple on hand, so I added about 1/2 cup of that, finely diced. I subbed cider vinegar for the white, but I'm sure it would be equally good either way. To make it a main dish salad, I chopped up a grilled chicken breast and added it in. A very delicious way to eat my fruits and vegetables, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
We loved the flavor of this "sauce" for the coleslaw. We didn't want an overwhelming mayo flavor and this was perfect though I made some changes in the ingredients due to the items I had on hand. Unfortunately I didn't have pineapple juice or an apple but the juice would have been an excellent tropical addition. I added 2 green onions, utilizing all the green parts and the white part of one. I added 2 stalks of celery, finely sliced. I also had garlic rice vinegar so I substituted that as well. I added Mrs. Dash and salt in the seasonings. It was a great side dish to accompany our hamburgers. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lace
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I LOVE this idea but I did a few modifications and I'm not sure it's even the same recipe anymore. I kept the ratio of cabbage, carrot and green apple but to keep the apple from turning brown I put it through the food processor with three cubes of pineapple juice (I freeze things like that in ice cube trays so they are always on hand). I swapped the white vinegar for cider vinegar and added a few tsp of lemon juice as well. I did not use honey (though I'm a big fan of raw honey) as I've had trouble in the past with a strange taste when mixing honey and fresh veggies or fruits so I kept the brown sugar and added in 1/2 tsp pure stevia extract (I use this in place of most sugar) and a tablespoon of apple juice concentrate to sweeten some more because it wasn't sweet enough. I also upped the mayo a bit because it wasn't "creamy" enough for me but I used a low fat type with olive oil for health reasons. I did add the salt and pepper though I was actually worried about that and finally, I tossed in some raisins (1/2 cup or so) and I couldn't stop eating it! Neither could my youngin! The apple really helps and the pineapple juice should not be optional. Next time I will try it with the stated amount of mayo and some silken tofu for extra protein and lower fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Carson, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I made this for my family and new son-in-law. No one liked it. Thought it had a peculiar taste. If I made it again, I would obmit the honey. This is the first Allrecipes I did not like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mochalvr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I'm not a big fan of coleslaw but i loved this one. It wasn't to mayonasie and i loved the apples. I didn't add the brown sugar because i'm trying to cut down on sugar and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by erindelight
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was excellent... the apple adds a really nice zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erindelight

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
It was not wet enough, nor was it creamy enough. I dare say that it was also not sweet enough. I am a tough critic when it comes to coleslaw. I like my very wet, creamy and sweet. This was none of those. I almost doubled the sauce and it still was seriously lacking...for me( and my family)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Apple Coleslaw

See how to make a sweet twist on classic coleslaw.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States