Apple Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Good quick and easy slaw recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Awesome coleslaw recipe. I has become my new coleslaw recipe. The only change I made is I use red cabbage instead of green cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I made it exactly. Very good - found dressing a little bland and overly peppery for the tasters' tastes. Nice that it doesn't have sugar overload or swims in mayo like some coleslaws. Recipe doesn't make much dressing - if you use even half a cabbage, I think you'll need more (I used 2/3 of a cabbage = 8 cups.). So next time I will cut back the black pepper, add a nip of cayenne, double the dressing. P.S. I salt-soaked the cabbage after shredding it - my first time and definitely the way I will do it again to get the right texture and avoid milky-runoff-puddle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Very good and sweet slaw. I have made this several times with a few changes. Instead of white vinegar I've used apple cider vinegar and it works the same but heightens the sweetness. I always add purple cabbage, I like the flavor, cripness and sweetness of this type of cabbage. I also love taste that poppy seed dressing adds to this slaw. It blends the flavors well. I add about 1 tbsp of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Very good!! Except got a little watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This coleslaw was just ok for us. We love coleslaw and I've tried many different ones from this site. Can't figure out what the off taste was for us, unless it was the honey. Not a big fan of honey. I did add the pineapple juice to the dressing. I only made a half batch and we finished it, but will not be making this one again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I have never liked coleslaw much, but I love this. It is the perfect mix of sweet and tart and slightly creamy. The apple and the pineapple juice are what makes this great. The only change I made was to double the pineapple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Excellent flavor and textures. I had to use apple cider vinegar as it was all I had on hand. I used the pineapple juice from a can of pineapple chunks (reserved the chunks for a school snack). One tablespoon isn't enough to make the coleslaw taste "pineappley". If you like a more creamier coleslaw, add another tablespoon or 2 of mayo. If you prefer your slaw to be zippier, add a little more vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
My family and I absolutely loved this sweet coleslaw! I didn't use pineapple juice, so it was likely not as sweet as it could be, but I didn't miss it. Instead, I added 2 teaspoons of finely shredded coconut right on top of the chopped apples (highly experimental) and the juice from half a lemon, and I was sooooo happy I did! The coconut flavor is light but noticeable and soooooo good with the apple flavor! I also mixed the wet ingredients together first like others suggested. Mine was not soupy at all because I used pre-shredded cabbage (cole slaw mix) from Sam's. I'm pleased with how light the dressing is because it doesn't make me feel guilty for eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBNewcomb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I love easy and I love tasty. Score one for this recipe. Put any spices to go with the protein you're serving. Great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Apple Coleslaw

See how to make a sweet twist on classic coleslaw.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States