Apple Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I tried this since it got such great reviews, but I found it to be very bland....but since I don't make cole slaw very much, I wasn't sure what was missing. There definitely was NOT enough dressing to cover the slaw. I ended up adding quite a bit of celery salt and cinnamon. The cinnamon REALLY seems to pull the flavors together...but I'm not sure if it's going to be a crowd-pleaser tonight or not. I'll report back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I skipped the pineapple juice (didn't have any), put about half the pepper in and added an extra TB or so of mayo. After those slight modifications, it came out great - very light and slightly sweet. I ate mine on BBQ beef sandwiches and it added JUST the right touch. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Plainsboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Sweated the cabbage as suggested, but still ended up pretty watery in no time. All the same, I'll make it again to see if I can do it better; it was tasty nevertheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Loved it! Even my non-coleslaw eating husband liked it. I went ahead and used pineapple juice from from canned pineapple and added the pineapple chunks - nice addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This coleslaw is really tasty. I sort of blanched the vegetables a while before mixing with the sauce. I substituted apple cider vinegar for the white vinegar and it gave the dish an interesting twist. I left the skin on the apple and sliced it instead of shredding as it allows me to taste the apple. I had no problem using low-fat mayonnaise but I made sure to dissolve the sugar completely in the vinegar before adding other ingredients. This helps to eliminate the lumps of sugar if you mix everything all at once. I did not add the pineapple juice nor the salt as I felt the coleslaw was flavourful enough. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hougang, North-East Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
You goota tweak these recipes to your liking.I made some adjustments and it came out excellent! Little less cabbage and carrot, little more apple. Added 1 T of milk, 1 t T of lemon juice, and 3 T of onion. I used 4 T of lowfat mayo and increased the vinegar to 2 T for a little tsing. mmmmm nice change from the usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I added a small amount of canned pineapple instead of pineapple juice. I did not have honey on hand but used my gourmet standby: pancake syrup as a substitute. This was good and I'll make it again--possibly adding chopped red pepper for more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Awsome recipe. I made this for 15 people and they all loved it! Best coleslaw ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allymathis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Delicious. I made some changes: double (at least) the dressing. Do NOT use low-fat mayonnaise (I should've known that) and mix mayo with brown sugar before adding liquids for creamier results (otherwise gets curdled appearance, even when using a whisk). I added pineapple tidbits. I left skins on apples (used 2) and chopped in shape similar to pineapple tidbits. I garnished with apples slices and pineapple tidbits on top so everyone would know the unusual ingredients were in there. Next time I might add FRESH parsley. Very yummy. Dressing was very light, nice alternative to the heavy mayo or the vinegar dressings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dayton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I've made this recipe many times and my husband just loves it every time! The measurements are right on, as we don't particularly like goopy coleslaw. I never liked coleslaw before, but I really like this. We add raisins to make it a little sweeter. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maegan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States