Apple Cole Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I was skeptical about this because of the amount of brown sugar, but it was really good. I didn't use the red bell pepper. I liked it even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This recipe is wonderful. I double the apple, and cut the apple pieces into fairly small chunks. The first time I made it the apple pieces were too big and fell off the fork. I also shake the apple pieces in extra lemon juice before assembly so it lasts longer without browning. Due to personal preference, I substitute bell pepper for the red pepper, and substitute some shopped celery for most of the green onion. It would be good with nuts, too. The dressing is delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This is a great slaw for those who like theirs sweet. My husband went out and got more cabbage so I could make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I cut back on the brown sugar but only because our family never likes as much as a recipe calls for. My husband and two year old loved it. The four year old didn't like it at all and I thought it was good but needed pecans. When the husband says five stars, though, I give five stars because he doesn't just hand those out to every recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Tooo sweet, next time I will use half the brown sugar at most. nice and crunchy though. Adding some toasted almonds or sunflower seeds adds a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dorothydehart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Very good, made it just like the receipe called for, made no changes, a do over for sure. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I love this slaw! The sweetness Is perfect for barbecues,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This is great! We really enjoyed it! My parents that don't really care for healthier items even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
A good cole slaw. Fresh, crisp. Very sweet. I used the packaged broccoli slaw. Will try adding a tsp of cider vinegar as other reviewers have done to cut the sweetness. Great as a wrap as well as a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I wasn't too sure about fruit in a coleslaw never having one before, but it turned out fabulous! The only apples I had on hand were Honeycrisp, so I did cut down on the sugar in the recipe (by half) due to the sweetness of the apple and am glad I did, coleslaw should be a wee bit tart IMO! :) I did add some raisins for a garnish, overall, will make this again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 111-120 (of 432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States