Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
1/2 recipe...baked in 8x8 pan added 1tsp cinnamon to apples & soaked in OJ while mixing other ingredients. Used brown sugar in place of white. Applesauce in place of oil. Added 1 tsp of vanilla to OJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Super good. I used apple sauce instead of oil and apple juice instead of orange juice. Baked for 60 minutes and left it in the pan for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by reese
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This turned out AMAZING!!! The inly thing I did different is put more layers in (thinner layers of batter), and sprinkled apples on the bottom of the bunt pan so when I flipped it is have apples on top! The sweetness is perfect for us, and this cake pears wonderfully with a cup of coffee!! A great way to start a Saturday morning!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
This cake was very easy to make, very moist and delicious. I will most certainly be adding this one to my recipe folder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
great cake for any time of year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is a simple cake to make, however, I found it to be too sweet. Next time I will cut the sugar in half for the batter. 3 Cups of sugar in the batter on top of the sugar it calls for to go onto the apples is too much. This cake is the perfect amount of dry on the outside and the perfect amount of moist on the inside. Inside, the texture is almost similar to bread pudding due to the apples. If you like a lot of moisture, use ALL the apples. I didn't use all the apples because it looked too much for me. I probably used 3. I also added nutmeg to the batter and used 2 cups all purpose flour and 1 cup 100% whole grain stone ground flour and I used Truvia Baking Blend for the sugar. I also added raisins on top of the apples. Delicious, but next time it will not be as sweet. Great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This was ok. The quality and flavors of the apples needs to be good in this recipe as there is no spices to fill out the flavor of the cake except in the topping, I do not recommend using Granny Smiths, a Fugi for Macintosh would be much better flavor wise. The texture was heavy and I had to add more liquid to the batter in order to be able to stir it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I don't know if I will make this again. Just didn't do it for my boyfriend and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingthedayaway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Delicious! One of the best coffee cake recipes I have ever come across. Sometimes I substitute blueberries or strawberries for the apples and it tastes just as great. A nice treat for the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bercia15

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I've made this cake however it is slightly different. I bake it in a 9X13 pan. I use 4 cups of apples (apples you would use to make an apple pie). Not all apples are suitable. I use 1/4 c orange juice or apple juice. The coating for apples is 3 tsp cinnamon in 1/3 cup of sugar. It's always a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States