Apple Coffee Cake With Brown Sugar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2000
This apple coffee cake is better than any bakery coffee cake that I have ever had. I highly recommend this to any beginner baker. I have made it twice in two weeks. MMMMMMM GOOD.....:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2000
Easy to prepare, quick to make, and a knockout with the hot brandy sauce. The brandy sauce offsets the not-too-sweet cake. It's great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
Very yum, but make sure oven is not too hot or cake dries out quickly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
this is now my all time favorite coffee cake. I loved it. It is very moist, and the sauce is perfect for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
My sister who's 14 absolutely loved the crust, she ate everyone elses too. The rest of the family thought it was great, but I didn't like it too much myself. I thought it was a little too heavy, esp. with the brown sugar sauce. Next time I may add more apples. I cooked it for only 1hr. when the knife came out clean, and it was already slightly dry- the recipe said 1 hr.20 min..... on the whole though it was more complicated in terms of texture and taste than most coffee cakes. If my family hadn't liked it though, I doubt I'd be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
The Brown Sugar Sauce that goes with this cake is so delicious that I'm going to serve it as pudding the next time around. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
I just made this delicous cake!!! I didn't make the sauce, but really enjoyed the cake warm with some vanilla ice cream and coffee! I made it with wheat flour, added an extra apple and only baked it for 1 hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I highly recommend this cake. It is easy and delicious. I have made this about 4 times and people always want the recipe. I use 3 apples instead of 2. No nuts, just because I don't like them. Reduce baking time to about 1 hour. The sauce is good but I don't always make it. When I do make it, about half the recipe is enough and it is fine without the alcohol if you don't have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
This is an extraordinary coffee cake. I serve it without the brown sugar sauce to cut some carolies and sugar, and it's so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
This was a GREAT coffee cake. Made it for a coffee date with a close friend and chatted over it for over 3 hours! I used 3 apples like others and half the nuts. Being worried that it would bake too soon and burn on the outside, I baked it at 350 instead. It did take close to an hour and a half that way. Didn't make the brown sugar sauce but would like to try it for next time. Was good without though. Also, not having a round cake pan, I baked it in a 8x8 square pan. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States