Apple Coffee Cake With Brown Sugar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
Initially, I had reservations about this recipe. I found that the cake didn't require further baking after 45 minutes, so many thanks to all of you that posted the warnings about cooking times. The cake that emerged from the oven was visually tempting, and its cinnamon-vanilla aroma was pleasantly appealing...but when I served it up for dessert, still warm, with ice cream, it didn't go down a storm. Everyone ate it politely, and there were no overt criticisms but not a one jumped at the chance for seconds or even to take leftovers away with them. Disappointed, I was preparing to offer the remains of the cake to the birds the next morning when I popped a morsel of it in my mouth, and then immediately wondered what had happened to the one that I had baked because the bird fodder I had in hand could not possibly have been it!! It had a gorgeously moist and tender crumb and a crust that was both crisp and caramelly at the same time. So, unless the fairies stole in overnight and substituted slices of their enchanted food for my floury stodge, this cake *clearly* benefits from having a night to rest - as do we all! I shall definitely make this one again - but the next time it will be a "make-ahead" cake for brekkie or brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I highly recommend this cake. It is easy and delicious. I have made this about 4 times and people always want the recipe. I use 3 apples instead of 2. No nuts, just because I don't like them. Reduce baking time to about 1 hour. The sauce is good but I don't always make it. When I do make it, about half the recipe is enough and it is fine without the alcohol if you don't have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Great flavor. Very moist and delicious. I found that it took just under an hour to bake (and even then the bottom was a little overdone).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2001
This cake is absolutely delicious. We made it for the first time for christmas breakfast, now we make it atleast once a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2001
This is a scrumptious moist apple cake with a really rich caramel sauce. The recipe comes from Newfoundland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
I just made this delicous cake!!! I didn't make the sauce, but really enjoyed the cake warm with some vanilla ice cream and coffee! I made it with wheat flour, added an extra apple and only baked it for 1 hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2001
Mine turned out dry and very heavy. Now this could have definitely been user error, but I just wasn't a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
My sister who's 14 absolutely loved the crust, she ate everyone elses too. The rest of the family thought it was great, but I didn't like it too much myself. I thought it was a little too heavy, esp. with the brown sugar sauce. Next time I may add more apples. I cooked it for only 1hr. when the knife came out clean, and it was already slightly dry- the recipe said 1 hr.20 min..... on the whole though it was more complicated in terms of texture and taste than most coffee cakes. If my family hadn't liked it though, I doubt I'd be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
It's way too sweet. But my family enjoyed the cake, even my picky mom said it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
The Brown Sugar Sauce that goes with this cake is so delicious that I'm going to serve it as pudding the next time around. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States