Apple Coffee Cake With Brown Sugar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
My sister who's 14 absolutely loved the crust, she ate everyone elses too. The rest of the family thought it was great, but I didn't like it too much myself. I thought it was a little too heavy, esp. with the brown sugar sauce. Next time I may add more apples. I cooked it for only 1hr. when the knife came out clean, and it was already slightly dry- the recipe said 1 hr.20 min..... on the whole though it was more complicated in terms of texture and taste than most coffee cakes. If my family hadn't liked it though, I doubt I'd be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2001
Mine turned out dry and very heavy. Now this could have definitely been user error, but I just wasn't a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2001
This is a scrumptious moist apple cake with a really rich caramel sauce. The recipe comes from Newfoundland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
It's way too sweet. But my family enjoyed the cake, even my picky mom said it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2001
This cake is absolutely delicious. We made it for the first time for christmas breakfast, now we make it atleast once a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2001
I wasn't particularly impressed with this recipe and probably won't make it again. It could be because I didn't make the sauce with it - didn't have brandy on hand. I did like that this cake was very moist, but didn't like the way the crust turned out - it was difficult to cut through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
this is now my all time favorite coffee cake. I loved it. It is very moist, and the sauce is perfect for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
Very yum, but make sure oven is not too hot or cake dries out quickly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2000
Easy to prepare, quick to make, and a knockout with the hot brandy sauce. The brandy sauce offsets the not-too-sweet cake. It's great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2000
This apple coffee cake is better than any bakery coffee cake that I have ever had. I highly recommend this to any beginner baker. I have made it twice in two weeks. MMMMMMM GOOD.....:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States