Apple Coffee Cake With Brown Sugar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
I made this cake last night and the texture was great. I wasn't crazy about the bottom crust, it was a little too floury. I used chunky applesauce in place of the apples, it made it very moist. I will make this again and try a different crust style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
Wow!! I was so impressed with this recipe. I got many comments on how good it was and was asked for the recipe by several. I did not change anything to the recipe itself but did have to watch the baking time, after 45 minutes at 375 I covered with foil and then only baked an additional 10/15 minutes at 350. Served with the sauce and cool whip. Highly recommend you try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
This is a WONDERFUL cake! My family and I just loved it! 1/2 the cake was gone after being out of the oven for only 30 minutes! I used a different brown sugar sauce found also on this web site. DELICIOUS!!! I'm already being asked when I'll be able to make the next one! I used 1/4 cup Sour Cream, and 1/2 cup yogurt because that's what I had. And also I was hesitant to put a whole 1 1/2 cup sugar in so I put about 1 1/4 cup in. Thanks sooo much for the great recipe. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesusislife

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
I have a true temperature oven and found that after about 30 min. I had to reduce the temperature to 350 F and still the cake had already turned a touch too dark. Still tasted very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
This was a GREAT coffee cake. Made it for a coffee date with a close friend and chatted over it for over 3 hours! I used 3 apples like others and half the nuts. Being worried that it would bake too soon and burn on the outside, I baked it at 350 instead. It did take close to an hour and a half that way. Didn't make the brown sugar sauce but would like to try it for next time. Was good without though. Also, not having a round cake pan, I baked it in a 8x8 square pan. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
This is an extraordinary coffee cake. I serve it without the brown sugar sauce to cut some carolies and sugar, and it's so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I highly recommend this cake. It is easy and delicious. I have made this about 4 times and people always want the recipe. I use 3 apples instead of 2. No nuts, just because I don't like them. Reduce baking time to about 1 hour. The sauce is good but I don't always make it. When I do make it, about half the recipe is enough and it is fine without the alcohol if you don't have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Great flavor. Very moist and delicious. I found that it took just under an hour to bake (and even then the bottom was a little overdone).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
I just made this delicous cake!!! I didn't make the sauce, but really enjoyed the cake warm with some vanilla ice cream and coffee! I made it with wheat flour, added an extra apple and only baked it for 1 hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
The Brown Sugar Sauce that goes with this cake is so delicious that I'm going to serve it as pudding the next time around. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States