Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
The amount of spice and the cake’s texture was faultless, as was the topping amount. I chopped the peeled apples in 1/2 inch dice and it baked up nicely. This yummy coffee cake is nice served plain or with a dollop of vanilla yogurt, and is company worthy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Very good! Did not have the vanilla yogurt so just doubled the sour cream! I doubled the recipe and it fit nicely in a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rox

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roblin, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Jasper, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PatGlauer
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Don't understand why so few reviews for this unless its too new. I followed recipe exactly but had fresh peaches I needed to use so substituted for the diced apples and it was amazing. So moist and tender and looked fantastic. Will be adding to my list of easy breakfast/coffee favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hebron, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ashland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I'm glad to be one of the first few reviewers of this recipe. I have an abundance of apples this Fall and was looking for ways to use them. I made the recipe exactly as it is written and it was very good! So moist and flavorful...I will make it again and again. We took the suggestion of the submitter and put a dollop of yogurt on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Have it in the oven right now, but I can already tell this is going to be a real keeper. The batter is thick and yummy. Was easy to make as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tualatin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
There aren't enough stars for this! Oh my, my, this was simply amazing! The kids n I made a double batch with a scant 1 cup sour cream n extra vanilla, a scant 1 Tablespoon. We lightly dusted the apples as we diced them, and I made them pretty small. other than these changes, followed the recipe to a T. The batter is very goopy but yummy, and cooked up into this dense, moist masterpiece! We used a glass 9x12 pan and it cooked to perfection in 40 minutes. Thank you, mysamba! This will be a family treasure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamasama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
so delicious and very easy to make! I have added it to my favorites:) Thank you so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I love this cake recipe. Although I must say it has more of a regular cake texture than a coffee cake texture. It is sweet, delicious, moist. I did make some substitutions. I used fat free sour cream and low fat butter spread instead of full fat butter. I needed a cake which would make me a little less guilty for eating it lol. I also added 3 tbsp of apple butter to the mix. Just to add a little moisture. I have an electric range oven so I did have to cook mine for about 11 minutes more. I also used a 9 inch round cake pan cuz that is what I had handy. This recipe isa keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I made this for a Christmas brunch and it was a big hit. I followed the directions as written and it was moist and delicious. It was easy, but it took a little time. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brandywine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Very good apple coffee cake! I will definitely make this again. I didn't have any yogurt so like other reviewers I doubled the sour cream. It has a delicious flavor. Next time I may add a little drizzle of frosting for an extra sweet touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States