Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I made this for breakfast this morning and it was really, really good. We have been trying to cut back on our sugar intake, and I should've cut the brown sugar down in this recipe. It was really sweet - so sweet that next time I will HALF the brown sugar in the batter. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I made it yesterday and it came out just delicious! All reviews are always helpful! My only review would be that I wanted to make this recipe double, but only had plain non fat yogur and buttermilk, so I used both instead of sour cream or vanilla yogur. I always love to use a little bit of nutmeg in my recipes You will never regret this cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This apple coffee cake is yummy! I used all plain nonfat yogurt instead of sour cream and and tossed in 1/2 cup of walnuts as I doubled the recipe. Easy and delicious! My boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Janesville, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Fabulous! I doubled this for Sunday breakfast and my family of 5 devoured the whole thing by 3pm. I used sucanat instead of sugar and gala apples instead of granny smith, tossing them with the juice from 1/2 lemon before adding to the batter. A word of caution: don't over mix the dough as that can lead to a tough texture; mix the dry ingredients well, mix the wet ingredients well, and then gently mix the whole thing just until everything is incorporated. Thanks for this great recipe, the kids are already asking me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by METG

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by SANDRA_92083
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Super tasty breakfast cake recipe that we all really enjoyed! I used a large fuji apple since that's what I had, and replaced the yogurt with additional sour cream and otherwise followed the recipe as written. Delicious - the texture was great as well. 35 minutes was perfect to get a nice crunchy texture on top and tender cake crumb. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I doubled this recipe and used McIntosh apples. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Very good apple coffee cake! I will definitely make this again. I didn't have any yogurt so like other reviewers I doubled the sour cream. It has a delicious flavor. Next time I may add a little drizzle of frosting for an extra sweet touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I made this for a Christmas brunch and it was a big hit. I followed the directions as written and it was moist and delicious. It was easy, but it took a little time. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brandywine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I love this cake recipe. Although I must say it has more of a regular cake texture than a coffee cake texture. It is sweet, delicious, moist. I did make some substitutions. I used fat free sour cream and low fat butter spread instead of full fat butter. I needed a cake which would make me a little less guilty for eating it lol. I also added 3 tbsp of apple butter to the mix. Just to add a little moisture. I have an electric range oven so I did have to cook mine for about 11 minutes more. I also used a 9 inch round cake pan cuz that is what I had handy. This recipe isa keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
so delicious and very easy to make! I have added it to my favorites:) Thank you so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States