Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
This was amazing!! I added more apples to it and used apple pie seasoning. This was by far my favorite cake I've ever made. It was a little mushy at first but I let it rest in the fridge over night and it was perfect in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marthas19
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Great coffee cake. I did not think it had too much sugar personally as some reviewers have said but then I do have a sweet tooth. I did make one change. I didn't use vanilla flavored greek yogurt because the one I bought did not have a nice flavor to my mind. Perhaps because it had artificial sweetener in it which I do not like. I substituted an equal amount of plain 2% greek yogurt. This may be another reason why I didn't find it too sweet because the vanilla flavored yogurt is very sweet. I did add some fresh squeezed lemon juice to the apples before adding them to the recipe. No more than a tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
With two Granny Smith apples sitting around and no idea what to make for dessert, this recipe was perfect! Nice and sweet, but the apple chunks give a hint of tartness and the cake itself was tender and moist. Not having sour cream I used all Vanilla yogurt and it turned out delicious. Very nice recipe, will make again and again~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jml

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Morro Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mala Qiu
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Made this today, doubling the recipe to make a Bundt cake. I used my home-made brown sugar and all sour cream, no yogurt, and I added some walnuts to the topping. I also put in a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice to get a richer flavor. I cut down the brown sugar a little, because my friends prefer less sweet cakes, and it's just perfect. I sprinkled about half of the topping on and then cut it into the batter with a knife before adding the rest, because I'd doubled that, too (not necessary). I think next time (and there will be a next time!) I'll put half the batter in the pan, then add some of the crumb mixture on top, and then add the remaining batter, finishing with the crumb topping. Because the Bundt cake must be inverted, the crumbs don't stick, so having inside would be great. If I were making it in a 9x13 pan, I'd just put it on top. I also made home-made salted caramel sauce to drizzle on the top, and oh my goodness, it's fantastic like that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mala Qiu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
I added walnuts and oats to the crumb topping, used all vanilla yogurt and cut the brown sugar down to 1 cup for a doubled recipe, It turned out fabulously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Best Coffee Cake I've ever had! It does take more work than most coffee cakes though. Waiting for the butter to soften, cutting the apples, doing dry ingredients then wet, etc. Only changes I did was use 1/2 whole wheat flour and half oat flour. I added pecans. I also had to use an extra tablespoon of butter to the crumb topping. I was amazed that there seemed to be a ton of crumb topping (usually i need to double it). As another reviewer said when i put the apples in it seemed to be more apples than dough but it turned out great. Had to bake for 40 minutes. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Great tasting cake, although I followed a couple suggestions by other reviewers. I doubled the recipe, but reduced the brown sugar to 1.25 cups. Even with my sweet tooth, it was still pretty sweet, so I think you could go to 1 cup for a double batch, if you don't LOVE sweet things. I also increased the salt to 1 tsp and added 1/2 tsp of nutmeg to the batter and 1/4 tsp to the crumble - all for the double batch. The batter seemed quite thick, but with the moisture from the apples baked up nice and light - yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
my mom isn't so fond of apples. ..but she was fond of this cake! nuf said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Camille
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Very easy to make and it went great with my morning coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Had doubts while mixing it - the dough to apple ratio looked strange, all apple and hardly any batter. But it came out amazing, moist and delish. I did reduce the sugar since I live at 6000'. Will make this again, maybe with a sour apple like Granny Smith.Just noticed that GS apples are called for, I used Galas, which were ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Black

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States