Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Very good recipe! I only made a few changes: I used gala apples instead of Granny Smith, added a little extra cinnamon, and used Yoplait Greek vanilla yogurt which I think is a little sweeter than most other types. I also had to enlarge the recipe a little bit because the only baking pan I could find was 9x13", so the cake ended up being a little thin. The cake came out perfect, though, and in my opinion tastes even better after being refrigerated for a day or two. The crumble on the top is quite good, and it's the perfect to have with a pot of tea. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This is one of the best apple cakes I have ever had. I made it twice last week! The cake is so moist thanks to the yogurt and sour cream, and I love that it isn't overly sweet. The apple flavor really comes through. Most apple cakes I have had are crumbly, but this one really holds together, enough that you can even cut it into bars and eat it as a finger food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This was fine. Given all the rave reviews, I expected more though. I followed the directions and the only change I made was to add about 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg to the dry ingredients. I find this coffee cake pretty bland. The crumb topping is a little sandy, I would decrease the flour in the topping net time. Except I don't think I'll bother to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I made this according to recipe, except for one thing - I used less dry ingredients per amount of butter in the topping, because I don't like dry bits falling off the cake. This was AMAZING. I used Macintosh apples - because they are my favorite and I use them for everything. Exceptional - will be making this often for my ladies group!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
To ERISED HOLLY: Regarding your review about middle doughy and collapsing. I feel the problem is perhaps you did not bake it long enough. The baking time given will vary according to different ovens. Do try again however bake until a toothpick inserted in the center of cake comes out clean. In order to not over bake after the initial recipe cooking time test for doneness with toothpick. If toothpick is not clean when inserted in center continue baking in 5 minute intervals until it is clean. Remove cake at that time. Good luck and happy baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hat Milli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I love the heavy use of apples in this recipe - don't skimp! If using a Bundt pan, *double* the recipe & bake ~8-10 minutes longer (I went 43 minutes & it turned out perfectly.) Cut apples small and coat with squeezes of fresh lemon juice, which adds a lovely touch to the flavor. I agree w/ another reviewer here who said this recipe is too sweet! Half the brown sugar - I used 3/4 cup for a double recipe & it was still sweeter than I would have wanted for breakfast. I used sour cream plus a fatty plain Greek yogurt (Fage), adding a bit more vanilla. Delicious. Recommend the granny smith apples as the recipe indicates. I forewent the crumble & dusted with powdered sugar instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese P

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
These taste great! The flavor is spectacular. My only concern is how it cooked. The center did collapse a bit, and the middle was pretty doughy. Any ideas on how to bake it better in the oven?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erised Holly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Absolutely yummy ! Super easy to make, I doubled it and it came out perfect. Thank you for sharing! Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This recipe was so simple to make and the everyone LOVED it!! The topping came out crunchy and tasty while the cake was extremely moist and delicious!! Tasted like something you get at a Fall fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Delicious! Followed the recipe, except only used 1/2C brown sugar. I was afraid that there was not enough batter for the apples, but it turned out just fine. Nice and moist, not overly sweet. Definitely a keeper - great cake to bring to a brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States