Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This recipe was so simple to make and the everyone LOVED it!! The topping came out crunchy and tasty while the cake was extremely moist and delicious!! Tasted like something you get at a Fall fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Delicious! Followed the recipe, except only used 1/2C brown sugar. I was afraid that there was not enough batter for the apples, but it turned out just fine. Nice and moist, not overly sweet. Definitely a keeper - great cake to bring to a brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Kids and guests loved this! I am overseas where sour cream is hard to find, but I used all vanilla yogurt and it turned out great! I used three apples for a double recipe, and it was a good amount, although I may try 4 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I have made this many times now since I found it in the fall
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This is the best coffee cake recipe I've ever made... since I didn't have sour cream, I just used all yogurt instead of the sour cream, and loved it! I've made it 4 times since the first time I tried it... My husband and family love it!! Thanks for sharing it Nancy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I've made this cake about 10 times now for birthdays, special breakfasts and when I need to use up apples. It is delicious! I use more apples (3-4) and cinnamon because I like a lot of fruit and my husband likes copious amounts of cinnamon. I've tried five or six different varieties of apples and all work well. It takes about an hour to bake with all the extra moisture. My three year old loves to help and it is always a hit. This is a simple recipe that is really great! Thanks for this wonderful crowd pleaser with less butter and sugar than other cakes this good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This is a jaw-dropper. The look, the smell, the taste is exceptional! It has made it into our recipe books as holiday morning breakfast (every holiday)! The only adjustments I make are minor: whole wheat instead all-purpose flour, plain yogurt in place of both vanilla yogurt and sour cream, and only 1/2 C. brown sugar in the batter instead of 3/4 C. Thank you for an incredible recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Doubled it for 9x13 pan. Used Coconut Oil instead of butter; whole wheat cake flour instead of white; vanilla greek yogurt for the yogurt. My apples were frozen chunks from the fall with skin on....used 4 cups for the double recipe and could have used more. I didn't thaw the apples and just cooked it at a lower temperature for longer....close to an hour. It was awesome and devoured quickly at an Easter brunch! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I made this for breakfast this morning and it was really, really good. We have been trying to cut back on our sugar intake, and I should've cut the brown sugar down in this recipe. It was really sweet - so sweet that next time I will HALF the brown sugar in the batter. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I made it yesterday and it came out just delicious! All reviews are always helpful! My only review would be that I wanted to make this recipe double, but only had plain non fat yogur and buttermilk, so I used both instead of sour cream or vanilla yogur. I always love to use a little bit of nutmeg in my recipes You will never regret this cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States