Apple Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
my mom isn't so fond of apples. ..but she was fond of this cake! nuf said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Camille
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Very easy to make and it went great with my morning coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Had doubts while mixing it - the dough to apple ratio looked strange, all apple and hardly any batter. But it came out amazing, moist and delish. I did reduce the sugar since I live at 6000'. Will make this again, maybe with a sour apple like Granny Smith.Just noticed that GS apples are called for, I used Galas, which were ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Black

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Made it yesterday and came out perfect. Didn't have vanilla yogurt so used all sour cream and also didn't peel the apples. Moist and tasty! Hubby said tasted really apple-y. A real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I didn't have any sour cream (we are all lactose intolerant) so I added double lactose-free vanilla yogurt instead. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Very good recipe! I only made a few changes: I used gala apples instead of Granny Smith, added a little extra cinnamon, and used Yoplait Greek vanilla yogurt which I think is a little sweeter than most other types. I also had to enlarge the recipe a little bit because the only baking pan I could find was 9x13", so the cake ended up being a little thin. The cake came out perfect, though, and in my opinion tastes even better after being refrigerated for a day or two. The crumble on the top is quite good, and it's the perfect to have with a pot of tea. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This is one of the best apple cakes I have ever had. I made it twice last week! The cake is so moist thanks to the yogurt and sour cream, and I love that it isn't overly sweet. The apple flavor really comes through. Most apple cakes I have had are crumbly, but this one really holds together, enough that you can even cut it into bars and eat it as a finger food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This was fine. Given all the rave reviews, I expected more though. I followed the directions and the only change I made was to add about 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg to the dry ingredients. I find this coffee cake pretty bland. The crumb topping is a little sandy, I would decrease the flour in the topping net time. Except I don't think I'll bother to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I made this according to recipe, except for one thing - I used less dry ingredients per amount of butter in the topping, because I don't like dry bits falling off the cake. This was AMAZING. I used Macintosh apples - because they are my favorite and I use them for everything. Exceptional - will be making this often for my ladies group!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States