Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
The first time I made this, I made it to the T (eyeballing the cinnamon) but cutting it in half for one person. It was alright, not great, so the second time around I made a few changes. I'm generally not a fan of the taste of oatmeal cooked with water, just a taste preference. I also didn't think it was "apply" enough or sweet enough. So the second time, instead of water, I used milk with the apple juice and I increased the amount of apple juice. I threw in the apples AND the cinnamon so that they could all simmer together. I added a touch of brown sugar at the end. The brown sugar might have made it a bit too sweet so I'll try it without the sugar next time. I found my changes made the oatmeal creamier and sweeter, and now I think I've added a new recipe to my breakfast menu! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenview, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
It was good if you added your own sugar, and I think some of the ingredients were unnecessary or made no difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Pretty good, but the flavor seemed just a little bland, so I added raisins, more cinnamon, and a little bit of salt. The salt & raisins really seemed to help. Definitely will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Sires

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This was absolutely delicious. I also added nuts because I put nuts in just about everything. I used apple sauce because I had no juice and added orange juice to the water. OJ gives it a tangy flavor and I add honey to the finished product. I will try this next with peaches instead of apples. It has sooo many possibilities
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Student

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This was a great starter base for flavored oatmeal. I added in a pinch of salt and some sugar too at the end. The apples needed to cook much longer and we added butter and a splash of vanilla at the table. As written this was fine, but it did benefit from the added ingredients. The servings were on the small side and if you have a hungry eater or a Hungry Teen you'll need to increase this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I added a little bit (1cup) more water and cinnamon stick with the water and apple juice. After pouring the oatmeal added raisins. It was delicious. I served it with brown sugar and milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessy L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I made this minus the apple juice (only because I didnt have) and added a 1/2 cup brown sugar. This was super delicious! I think next time I will make sure to have apple juice on hand to give this an extra punch of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristinpatton987

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Very nice recipe! This was WAY better than the last one I tried. I did alter it a bit, but nothing crazy. I upped it to a 3 serving size as its a great amount to make for my daughter (toddler) for the work week. Instead of using the apple juice or applesauce as some reviewers did, I cored an apple and threw it in the Nutribullet with the required water. I also simmered the apples in it for about 3 minutes before adding the oats. Next time I make this, which I definitely will, I'll also add about 1T brown sugar to my simmering apples. This tastes great and I can feel good about giving it to my little one =) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PookityPoo
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I made 4 servings, I used 1 1/4 c apple juice and 1 1/4 c water, 1 1/3 cups rolled oats, 2 apples and 1 tsp cinnamon, when it was done cooking I added 1/2 c coffee cream and 4 tsps brown sugar. My sons really enjoyed the change from plain oatmeal, great way to start the day when it is so cold out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I would maybe add some chopped dried apples and switch out the water for apple juice. Otherwise, good recipe! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Campbellford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States