Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This one surprised me. Inexpensive to make and really delicious. I used store-brand oatmeal packets. Very moist, great apple flavor, and the fact that chunky applesauce was the primary moisture instead of butter made me feel less guilty about eating it. I followed other's advice and added 1 1/2 packets of the oatmeal to the bread. It seemed like 1/2 pack was more than enough to cover the top, and I can understand how for some the topping might have gotten burned. Check your oven temp and check the bread for doneness 5 - 10 minutes before the recipe states. It may be ready and you're getting a wet tester (toothpick) because you tested through an apple chunk in the batter, instead of the cake. Delicious, cheap, easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Guess I should have read the reviews first. I made this exactly as written and didn't like it much. A whole pack of oatmeal on top is way too much. The top was powdery, salty and the apple bits got way too brown. I may try this again following some of the other review suggestions. This could be a really great recipe if the topping was fixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sublette, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pratt, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Very good bread. I doubled the recipe to make 2 loaves. Smelled awesome while cooking and the family could not wait for it to cool off before eating it! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Loved these! I added one chopped up apple to mix and made muffins instead of a loaf. Moist with lots of apple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
It was ok. Not crazy about the texture or the flavor the oatmeal gave it. It may be better if just plain oatmeal was used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIENNEROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This bread is my absolute favorite! It is so easy and delicious. Just like other reviewers, I will only put it in the oven for 45 minutes and I will put about 1.5 packets into the mix. Wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Bland and boring. I was disappointed the bread lacked flavor all together. I followed a recommendation and made the topping with brown sugar, but that was the only flavor and not enough to give the bread any taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Wonderful! doubled everything to make two loaves. Added 1 granny smith apple plus a smaller one. Only took 45 mins to bake. Next time I'll add a pinch of salt to batter, it seemed to be missing this element. Excellent. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Delicious, easy and economical. I love that there is so little butter/oil in the recipe. And it is a creative way to use instant oatmeal. I put 2 packets in the batter and skipped the one on top because if my husband saw oatmeal on it he might think it was "healthy" and be put off. But it turned out great with that slight change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
It was a little dry, next time I'll add a little more applesauce... very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States