Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I made at least half a dozen loaves of this at Christmastime. It's delicious and makes the house smell so-o-o good while it's baking! Of course, I made a few modifications: Instead of using chunky applesauce, use 1 apple (peeled & GRATED) and 1cup of cinnamon flavored applesauce. Add 1/2+ teaspoon cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg and 1/4 teaspoon clove and put 1 1/2 packets of the oatmeal in the mix. (BTW, you can mix ingredients in ANY order!) For TOPPING (instead of just sprinkling one pouch of oatmeal on top): mix 1 T. melted butter with 1/8 cup packed brown sugar, 1 teaspoon flour and the remaining half a packet of oatmeal and spread this on top BEFORE baking. Bake for 45minutes! Cover with kitchen towel to cool. Oh my! That's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LouHoo in VA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
WOW!!!!!!! I have made this bread multiple times, and it is AWESOME! I make it with whole wheat flour, sub. apple sauce for oil, only add 1/2 cup of sugar, and add one LARGE (about 1 and 1/2 cup) granny smith apple and it is one of the best breads I've ever had! Probably the best "healthy" bread! I make it every week now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This is very tasty! I made a few changes, based on what I had on hand and what my kids will eat. I used no-sugar-added non-chunky applesauce, 1/2c light brown sugar and 1/2c white sugar, and put both packets of oatmeal into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Great, great recipe. Tons of flavor, easy to prepare. The instant apple cinnamon oatmeal packet was a nice ingredient. I did follow recommendations from other raters and chopped a granny smith apple to the mix for a fresh, true flavor, added nutmeg and cloves for a more spicer taste. Prepared a streusel for the top. Thanks for the recipe and recommendations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Very good flavor. Substituted light margarine for the butter and 1/2 the sugar with splenda and it worked great. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
To be honest, I was kind of disappointed. I read the reviews and was expecting this to be amazing, but it wasn't. It was good, but not as good as everyone raved about. I love apple bread, and this just didn't do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy K.
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This is a delicious breakfast bread. My house smelled amazing while it was baking. I also dusted the pan with flour and cinnamon and only reserved 1/2 packet of oatmeal for the top, as other reviewers suggested. My kids want me to make this often. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
aaron really liked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Really yummy sweet bread that goes awesome with coffee or tea! I substituted white sugar for raw sugar, all-purpose for wheat flour, and egg whites for the eggs. It made the bread ridiculously heavy but still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by randimae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Tasted alright, but I wasn't a huge fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States