Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Great recipe! I've made this a few times. Definitely use the chunky apple sauce. I also used eggs whites to make it a bit healthier with no side effects. Like the others, I added 1 and 1/2 packets of oatmeal to the loaf and used the other 1/2 packet to top the loaf. I also made muffins out of this recipe which turned out great and cut the baking time in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Easy to make, and very good, with a nice apple taste. As other reviewers have said, not much of the oatmeal packet sprinkled on tip actually sticks to the bread. I patted the topping into the batter, but still, much of it fell off. I don't think it had much effect on the taste, however. Mine didn't require a full hour of baking, and even at about 50 minutes, the apple pieces on the top were beginning to brown too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Super easy and good too! I added a chopped up apple, used half whole wheat flour and a bit less on the sugar. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I made this recipe today, but with a few adjustments. Whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour. 1 cup no-sugar-added applesauce PLUS 1 cup chopped fresh apple. I added 1.5 packets of oatmeal to the mix, and reserved 0.5 for the topping. Also, I only cooked the bread about 45 minutes, not 60.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This was super easy to make. The only change I made was to add 1 peeled and chopped apple into the mix. Next time I will take the advice of others and mix 1 1/2 pkg. of the oatmeal into the mix and only top with 1/2 pkg. I ended up shaking the extra oatmeal off the top anyway. The inside of the bread was moist, but the outside was a little over done. Next time I will trim the baking time a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMS13408

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I love this bread, I made it last year, and I am getting requests to make it again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Wonderful tasting bread. Not sure if I would put the oatmeal on top next time. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
This bread is delicious! My husband refers to it as "fall in a loaf". I followed the recipe exactly, except next time, I might use an 8x5 loaf pan so it will rise more. I used the whole packet of oatmeal on top but I found the loaf a little messy to cut because a lot of it fell off. Wonderful taste & texture, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
very good. i added both packets of oatmeal to teh mixture, 1 chopped apple, and a little extra applesause. 4 stars because i dont think i'd liek it without the added apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reynolds, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
I did as others suggested and used fresh chopped apple, and used just a little of the apple sauce. I baked in four little loaf pans, and it turned out wonderful. I did use a whole packet of oatmeal in the batter, and another whole packet on top, but I think by speading the batter among the four small loaf pans I needed to use the whole 2nd packet of oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whittemore, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States