Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I thought the bread was dry. Flavor was pretty good. It tastes much better (not as dry) if you eat it warm and with butter on it. I made it just as the recipe called for except I couldn't find chunky applesauce so I used a little over 3/4 c. applesauce and added about 1/2 cup of chopped canned apples. I may try it again with more applesauce and not bake it for the whole hour. Baking at an hour didn't make it burnt but maybe that added to the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Great bread! I also added one diced Granny Smith apple after I mixed everything together. In the mix I followed other reviewers and put 1 1/2 packets apple/cinnamon oatmeal, and then for the top I mixed 1/8 cup packed brown sugar with 1 teas. melted butter, 1 teas. flour and the remaining half a packet of oatmeal and sprinkled this on top per other reviewers. I baked the full 60 min, and it was moist and full of flavor. I thought it was a tad sweet even, but the rest of the family all said 5 stars! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Great recipe! It was quick and easy, with great results. The bread is nice and moist, sweet but not too sweet. The first time I made this I followed the recipe exactly and it's great as is. The second time, though, I made a change that I thought worked great. I added a handful of regular oats to the batter. The first time I made the bread I thought the bread didn't have quite enough oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHERHIPPO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kellogg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I added a large handful of diced apple and put 1 and 1/2 packages of oatmeal in the mix, 1/2 on top. I also sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on top. It was a big hit at work! Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Winter Ivy
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This is a wonderful sweet, chewy apple bread. My whole extended framily loves it and some even asked me to make it for them as a christmas gift. The only thing I did differently was adding about 1/2 cup of chopped dried apples (that I make every year after apple picking). The dried apples reconstitue while the bread is baking and add a rally nice concentrated apple flavor to each bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winter Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harpswell, Maine, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This recipe is okay i made it a second time subsituting the apple sauce for fresh grated apples and an extra tablespoon of butter. The texture and hold of the cake was beautiful though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I made it just like the recipe said but made a double batch. It turned out great. I took some to church for our class breakfast, everyone enjoyed it. The next day I took some to work and everyone wanted the recipe. Will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rainbow City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
I made this just like the recipe says and it turned out dry and not too sweet. I think it is a good base for a potentially good recipe. Next time I will add 4oz sour cream and maybe another 1/2 cup of sugar. I also had to pick the burnt apples off the top maybe my oven was too hot so I don't want to give it too low of rating. Sour cream by the way, it a great way to moisten any bread or cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Flavor was wonderful but it didn't bake all the way through. I left it in the over for and hour like stated and even a little longer. Center was chewy and very moist. Overall pretty good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This was a great recipe! I took it to a playdate, and the toddlers and moms loved it. I did add in one chopped up apple, and put 1.5 packets of oatmeal in the batter, then used the last 1/2 packet with the struesel topping others suggested below. I plan to make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollykb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States