Apple-Cinnamon Farfel Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Doesn't taste like a Passover recipe. Good enough to make all year round. Make for parents and requested another batch. Made it in a round cake pan and cut in wedges. Also made in muffin tins. Freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
Pretty good - it disappeared in a flash. I made mine ahead of time and it deflated somewhat while it cooled, but I don't think anything was lost in flavour. I'm going to try adding another apple next time to make its taste stand out a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montreal mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
This kugel was delicious. But after searching 4 stores for the matzo farfel, I finally found it, only to realize that it's really just crushed matzo that I could have made myself by crushing Matzo I could have purchased at the first store. Very easy to make (with a food processor to shred the apples) and smells declicious when baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
Very good and easy recipe. My family and friends are not big kugel eaters but we really enjoyed this. I doubled the recipe to make it in a 9 x 13 pan and it worked fine. The next time I made it, I cut down the sugar, added ground up almonds, raisins and dried cranberries. By the way -- you don't even need to peel the apples! I just put them in the processor (cored) but peel and all -- it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
I made this today for our Seder. Everyone loved it. It did take more than 15 minutes to make, though - - maybe because I had to whip the egg whites by hand - - but it was fabulous. I will definitely serve this again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
This recipe was so easy and delicious. My 7 year old asked me to make it again for the 2nd night of Passover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
This was wonderful! The smell when it was baking, filled my entire house with cinnamon. It's so easy to make (if you have a food processor), and it was fantastic. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9X13 pan for the same amount of time and it turned out fine. I wouldn't wait until Passover to make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
This apple farfel kugel was a huge hit! It was a nice sweet treat at the seder. The only problem is that it can be a hassle to shred all the apples (I don't have a food processor). But it is worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
This was very tasty. It smelled delicious with the apples and cinnamon and I couldn't wait to dig in. My dinner guests loved it too. A great side dish for Passover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Excellent! I made this to take to a friend's passover dinner and everyone raved. The sweetness also makes it a hit with children. I will be making it again this holiday season for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

This sweet, creamy egg noodle casserole is traditional Jewish comfort food.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States