Apple-Cinnamon Farfel Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
My family and guests loved it! I used whole wheat matzoh farfel and even my picky mother-in-law did not mind. I should have made a double recipe as we gobbled it up. I made it a second time the next day. And one of my guests does not like cinnamon, so I baked her a ramekin sized one before adding the cinnamon. She loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I decided to try this recipe before I make Passover dinner. I was very disappointed. I am going to try it again only this time I will increase the amount of Farfel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
i made it erev passover and tasted it after it was done and it was so good i would definitly make it all year round
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I thought this was average. I had never made farfel kugel before but heard it was very good. I didn't think so. It was too sweet and I didn't like the texture but to be fair, a couple of members of my family did. I don't think I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
This was delicious! I made it exactly as the recipe was written. I am making it in a large quantity for my church Seder dinner, so I tried it out ahead of time. I am sure it will be a hit there also. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
I didn't care for the texture. With the shredding of the apples and beating of the egg whites, I thought it was a lot of work. I took it to a seder and everyone thought it was average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Very tasty recipe. Probably would be good as a dessert served warm with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
This was good but too sweet for me. I tripled the recipe for a large seder I attended. It fit nicely in a 13x9 baking dish and I was able to make it the night before. We put it in the oven covered with foil at 250 while the seder was going on and took it out after about 45 min. It was still moist and great. It was served on the buffet with everything else instead of as a dessert. I think that was my first mistake. It was really good and the consistency was great, but I felt the sugar overpowered it. It actually had a sugar taste. There is a difference between something tasting sweet and something having a "sugar" taste. It did not go well with all the other food on the table. With apple and cinnamon you cannot go wrong, so I am not sure that I would go as low as half the sugar, but for tripling the recipe I would use just over a cup. I also took the advice of another reviewer and added an extra apple. I also opted to use Granny Smith apples. I cannot wait to make this again, just with lower sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
This is the first time i have tasted Farfel Kugel , and was dissapointed.Maybe im just not used to the taste . I love cinnamon and apple so thats why it does not get less stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Doesn't taste like a Passover recipe. Good enough to make all year round. Make for parents and requested another batch. Made it in a round cake pan and cut in wedges. Also made in muffin tins. Freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States