Apple-Cinnamon Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
We really like these. My husband wanted to help me the third time I made this. Don't let your husband slice the apples. We went to the ER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Yummy! Think bread pudding meets apple pie! I followed the recipe exactly, but think next time I will follow the suggestion on another reviewer and put the apples on the bottom, as on top they came out a bit crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHAROO2U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Made this last year for Christmas morning! It was a huge hit. I did a couple changes and put the apples in the bottom of the pan. I also used the raisin cinnamon bread I had and it turned out so good. Thanks allrecipes for some good memories. I'm going to use it again this Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I host a holiday brunch each holiday season and this is always a favorite. Easy prep the night before with a quick toss in the oven in the morning. I have altered the recipe by using cherry pie filling and that was equally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Warrenville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This recipe is nothing fancey, but tasted good with some malple syrup drizzled over the top and a cup of french roast on the side. :) A nice simple Sunday morning breakfast that is easy to throw together the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Thank you for this awesome recipe! I made it with the same ingredients, but rather than layering the sugar mixture, I did this: Ripped up bread, let it dry overnight. Mix cored/sliced/chopped apples in the cinnamon/sugar/nutmeg mixture and toss on top of bread. Mix eggs, milk, vanilla, milk together and dump over top of apples/bread. Bake! It was really, really yummy. As I tend to watch my caloric intake, I don't get to eat stuff like this a lot. This was a perfect breakfast to eat right before heading out for a 50 mile bike ride. Nutrition to get me through the ride, and was able to burn it off before the ride was over, so it was guilt-free! Like someone else mentioned, I did not have time to let this cook in the morning, so I set my stove to start at 5am, and left the casserole dish in the oven before heading to bed. Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Good. Made it according to the recipe. I'm going to make it again and next time I'll make these changes: 1.) cut the french bread into 1" chunks; 2.) toss the apples with the spices; 3.) mix it all together; 4.) pour milk and egg mixture over all. The flavors were great, but the apples on top were a little tough and most of the spices were on top of the apples. When mixing it all together, I'll also increase the spices just slightly. I love that this recipe makes use of leftover french bread! Thanks for a good recipe, John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Great, easy recipe which is totally yummy! I chopped the bread and apples and just threw them in altogether, poured the liquid mixture over and then sprinkled the remaining cinnamon mixture on top (after stirring the first half in with the apples). Came out great and it was gone before I could blink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by REMNJAVA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I cut the recipe in half and used store made brat buns for the bread. I split them and put in the "boat" shown, with the apples on top. I felt if I had the apples on the bottom, the bread wouldn't get wet enough. It tasted more like bread pudding than French Bread. I had it on the "convection setting" for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Made this several times and it is great! Important to use day old bread as it soaks up the batter better and to try to bring it to room temperature before putting in oven. Then baking time is accurate. I sometimes place apples on bottom with some brown sugar and butter, then turn over. Good recipe just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocean City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States