Apple Cider Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Joy Boston
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I was looking for an apple cider pork stew recipe for my thermo cooker when I found this. This is a good recipe and easy to make. Instead of beef stew meat, I used pork stew meat. I also used Granny Smith apples instead of Fiji apples, 1 can of chicken broth, added basil, coriander, tarragon, bay leaves, and used a thermo cooker to make this. Hubby approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Boston

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I've been using this exact recipe for years. My father used to make it for me. He got it out of a cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Family loved this. Did not use as many apples only half an apple and it was plenty. Made it in the crockpot and used beef stock at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Foxfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This is a great recipe. Agree with other posters about adding beef stock and water at the end if you have it. I also usually add extra thyme because, well... I love it. Fabulous fall meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Love this stew. Very nice to change up our stews with a natural, sweeter flavor. The kids love it. It's perfect for fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This was the best stew that I've ever eaten. I did make a few changes but nothing major. First of all, I tossed the beef with flour and spices and then put in the slow cooker. I did not wait until beef was cooked before adding the juice mix to the beef. I added Worcestershire sauce, savory, more thyme, dried basil and 2 beef bouillon cubes to the cider before putting the juice in my crock pot. I let the broth and beef cook for 1 hour before adding my veggies. I used baby potatoes, sweet potato, brussel sprouts in addition to the ingredients in the recipe. I let this cook on high for another 3 hours and it came out AMAZING. I will be making this often. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Tastiest stew I have ever made. I had to use apple juice because I could not find cider. Can't wait to try with cider!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I've been making a variation of this for years and it's always a favorite. I don't use thyme. For the liquid I use a dash or 2 of worchestershire. 1 can tomato soup or tomato sauce, 1 can beef broth and fill the crock pot the rest of the way with cider after I add the veggies. Crockpot on low for 5 hours. Just don't skip the part about browing the meat separately or it gets very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I took the advice of previous reviewers and added a can of beef broth rather than water. I also added a little extra thyme when I added the cider. In addition, I sauteed the onions with the beef before I added the cider. My soup was brown. I suspect that was because I added beef broth. It was good. I'd make it again. My daughter didn't like the apples in the stew but my husband, two sons and I did not mind it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
this is one of the best beef stew recipe I had so far. Didn't take me long to make it, perfect for the winter; warm and comforting. the sweetness the apple cider brings plays well with the other ingredients. i had to use 3 cups instead of 2 and a 1/2 of cider. overall it's a good dish i give it a 5 out of 5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States