Apple Cider Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
So good. Have made it twice...couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This was okay, not great. I used cubed pork loin instead of beef, and beef broth instead of water. It really left something to be desired...I'm not sure what it's lacking. The recipe is worth playing around with. Maybe I'll add some bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Good recipe, but not the best. I would give it 3.5 stars if possible. The first recipe I ever tried from this site was for beef stew (which I loved), and I still had some meat left over in the freezer, so I thought I'd give this one a try. I wasn't quite sure what to expect, but the mild sweetness was pretty good. I pretty much followed the recipe exactly, however I wasn't able to put all the potatoes and apples with the amount of liquid in the pot. I ended up using half of them because I did not have enough cider (or room in the pot for that matter) and did not want to water it down too much. I also added a beef bouillon cube (stock) as advised in other reviews for some savoriness, which worked out well. Overall, if I were to do it again, I'd add a bit more meat and less potatoes. The amount of carrots was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Absolutely delightful! I went with the advice of others and used beef broth instead of water. I ended up using close to 2 C of broth as opposed to 1 C as recipe called for. I used large russet potatoes which is probably why I needed to add more liquid. Also used winesap apples, as that's what I had on hand. Even my picky eater loved it! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Speedway, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This recipe was very good. I added beef boullion as recommended by others, only one potato, and some cabbage, as that is what I had. I will make it again, but not every month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I never thought of apples or apple cider with beef, however I did make this same recipe with pork. I usually use a least expensive cut such as pork but roast and it is very good with spareribs. I also always use my crock pot/slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
the texture was good flavors what excellent I really enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisia Sanders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joy Boston
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I was looking for an apple cider pork stew recipe for my thermo cooker when I found this. This is a good recipe and easy to make. Instead of beef stew meat, I used pork stew meat. I also used Granny Smith apples instead of Fiji apples, 1 can of chicken broth, added basil, coriander, tarragon, bay leaves, and used a thermo cooker to make this. Hubby approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Boston

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I've been using this exact recipe for years. My father used to make it for me. He got it out of a cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Family loved this. Did not use as many apples only half an apple and it was plenty. Made it in the crockpot and used beef stock at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Foxfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States