Apple Cider Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This was okay, not great. I used cubed pork loin instead of beef, and beef broth instead of water. It really left something to be desired...I'm not sure what it's lacking. The recipe is worth playing around with. Maybe I'll add some bacon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Good recipe, but not the best. I would give it 3.5 stars if possible. The first recipe I ever tried from this site was for beef stew (which I loved), and I still had some meat left over in the freezer, so I thought I'd give this one a try. I wasn't quite sure what to expect, but the mild sweetness was pretty good. I pretty much followed the recipe exactly, however I wasn't able to put all the potatoes and apples with the amount of liquid in the pot. I ended up using half of them because I did not have enough cider (or room in the pot for that matter) and did not want to water it down too much. I also added a beef bouillon cube (stock) as advised in other reviews for some savoriness, which worked out well. Overall, if I were to do it again, I'd add a bit more meat and less potatoes. The amount of carrots was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Absolutely delightful! I went with the advice of others and used beef broth instead of water. I ended up using close to 2 C of broth as opposed to 1 C as recipe called for. I used large russet potatoes which is probably why I needed to add more liquid. Also used winesap apples, as that's what I had on hand. Even my picky eater loved it! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Speedway, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This recipe was very good. I added beef boullion as recommended by others, only one potato, and some cabbage, as that is what I had. I will make it again, but not every month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I never thought of apples or apple cider with beef, however I did make this same recipe with pork. I usually use a least expensive cut such as pork but roast and it is very good with spareribs. I also always use my crock pot/slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
the texture was good flavors what excellent I really enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisia Sanders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joy Boston
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I was looking for an apple cider pork stew recipe for my thermo cooker when I found this. This is a good recipe and easy to make. Instead of beef stew meat, I used pork stew meat. I also used Granny Smith apples instead of Fiji apples, 1 can of chicken broth, added basil, coriander, tarragon, bay leaves, and used a thermo cooker to make this. Hubby approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Boston

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I've been using this exact recipe for years. My father used to make it for me. He got it out of a cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Family loved this. Did not use as many apples only half an apple and it was plenty. Made it in the crockpot and used beef stock at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Foxfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This is a great recipe. Agree with other posters about adding beef stock and water at the end if you have it. I also usually add extra thyme because, well... I love it. Fabulous fall meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States