Apple Cider Pulled Pork with Caramelized Onion and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Recipe Group Selection: 20, September 2014 ~ This was a delicious sandwich! I made half recipe using a one pound pork tenderloin and wish I would have used a two pound tenderloin. I used Johnny AppleseedĀ® Hard Apple Cider (5.5% alc/vol) in this dish. When I walked thru the door after work, I didn't like the smell and was totally worried about our dinner. I shredded the meat and put it back in the slow cooker for another 2 hours as I had plans. When I got home, I proceeded with the recipe, again worried about the cinnamon in the apple/onion topping. Well, I had NOTHING to worry about - my husband and I loved this sandwich! I don't care for cooked apples, but they work with this combination. All the flavors work nicely together. I served this on mini ciabetta rolls along with boiled potatoes and fresh fruit. coldstar37, I think the group chose a great recipe for Recipe Group, even if I am a week behind in making it. It is a winner in our house, and one I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Recipe Group: Mom and I both really enjoyed this! I tweaked it slightly - using Splenda Brown Sugar Blend, and an extra apple. The one "flaw" I found in the recipe, is that it takes a lot longer than 10 minutes to caramelize onions [and my stove was turned up higher than medium-low!]. Next time, I would probably only use 2 bottles of the hard cider - or even, maybe, Mots For Tots apple juice. And, throw in another 1/2 an onion and a couple more apples. I took Saveur's suggestion and served them on pretzel buns (=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Recipe Group pick Sept. 2014: You are so right, coldstar32, this is the perfect fall sandwich! This would be fun for sliders and tailgating! I made the recipe as written, just removed the pork and strained the broth, then shredded, and added some broth back in for moisture. The topping is deeeelish. I served on pretzle rolls, perfect for this. Lots of leftovers, so I just added the apple mix right in with the pork for freezing, should be great. Thanks for sharing with AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Made this with Newton's Folly Hard Cider (Red Delicious, I think). Next time I would cut the sugar a little and might try "Pumpkin" spice, rather than straight cinnamon. I did drain most of the cooking liquid before mixing in the onion/apple mix. The family loved it. It was great for lunch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by edavidiet
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Delish!!! Even my onion hating son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This was good but a bit more time intensive than I had bargained for a way more vinegar tasting than I had hoped. All and all a good pork dish just not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This was a great recipe and super easy. Next time I make it, I will use 1/4 cup butter instead of 1/2 cup to make it a bit more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was absolutely delicious. I made it with the Angry Orchard cinnamon seasonal and served on oven toasted onion buns. Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was delicious. I had never cooked with hard cider before so this was an adventure. I selected one that had maple undertones.. the pork tasted really good. I think next time I'll slice up more apples as I really liked those with the pork. I added some of the cider liquid to the pork when I served it as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States