Apple Cider Pulled Pork with Caramelized Onion and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
It was dry. The apple/onion mixture was better than nothing but did not make the meat less dry. The pork cooking in hard cider smelled nauseating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Thought this was too sweet with the onion/apple mix, and I think the cider gave it a weird flavor. I might make it again without apples and use beer instead of cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Made this for Recipe Group. I seem to be the odd man out here. Family did not like the apple and onion mixture. I thought the meat was bland, definitely needed some salt and pepper in there. The whole sandwich eaten together tasted mostly of the apples to me. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This was divine and I ate way too much. Yum! I used 16 oz of Guiness and 20 oz of fresh apple cider, and had no Granny Smith, just used the little red apples that I had (didn't need to cook them as long as they were a softer variety). Waiting for the onion to brown was almost torture...can't wait for the leftovers tomorrow! Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Recipe Group Selection: 20, September 2014 ~ This was a delicious sandwich! I made half recipe using a one pound pork tenderloin and wish I would have used a two pound tenderloin. I used Johnny Appleseed® Hard Apple Cider (5.5% alc/vol) in this dish. When I walked thru the door after work, I didn't like the smell and was totally worried about our dinner. I shredded the meat and put it back in the slow cooker for another 2 hours as I had plans. When I got home, I proceeded with the recipe, again worried about the cinnamon in the apple/onion topping. Well, I had NOTHING to worry about - my husband and I loved this sandwich! I don't care for cooked apples, but they work with this combination. All the flavors work nicely together. I served this on mini ciabetta rolls along with boiled potatoes and fresh fruit. coldstar37, I think the group chose a great recipe for Recipe Group, even if I am a week behind in making it. It is a winner in our house, and one I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Recipe Group: Mom and I both really enjoyed this! I tweaked it slightly - using Splenda Brown Sugar Blend, and an extra apple. The one "flaw" I found in the recipe, is that it takes a lot longer than 10 minutes to caramelize onions [and my stove was turned up higher than medium-low!]. Next time, I would probably only use 2 bottles of the hard cider - or even, maybe, Mots For Tots apple juice. And, throw in another 1/2 an onion and a couple more apples. I took Saveur's suggestion and served them on pretzel buns (=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Recipe Group pick Sept. 2014: You are so right, coldstar32, this is the perfect fall sandwich! This would be fun for sliders and tailgating! I made the recipe as written, just removed the pork and strained the broth, then shredded, and added some broth back in for moisture. The topping is deeeelish. I served on pretzle rolls, perfect for this. Lots of leftovers, so I just added the apple mix right in with the pork for freezing, should be great. Thanks for sharing with AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Made this with Newton's Folly Hard Cider (Red Delicious, I think). Next time I would cut the sugar a little and might try "Pumpkin" spice, rather than straight cinnamon. I did drain most of the cooking liquid before mixing in the onion/apple mix. The family loved it. It was great for lunch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elaine Davidiet
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Delish!!! Even my onion hating son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Davidiet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This was good but a bit more time intensive than I had bargained for a way more vinegar tasting than I had hoped. All and all a good pork dish just not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States