Apple Cider Glazed Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by abliam3
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I made these this morning and they are FANTASTIC! I baked half, turning part way through to get some colour on each side. With the other half, I deep fried. Needless to say, they taste best fried, but are great baked as well. I dunked the warm doughnuts into the glaze, placed them onto a wire rack, then sprinkled a cinnamon-sugar mix on top. Also, I don't buy the packages of yeast; 1 package of yeast is equal to 2 1/4 teaspoons from a jar of quick rise yeast. Yum! Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
These are amazing! The recipe is easy to follow and I followed it exactly. This is my first time making doughnuts and everything was so easy. My 3-year old helped me knead the dough which is very easy to work with. He also helped roll it out and cut out the doughnuts. I used a deep fryer which I set to the exact temperature. I dipped the doughnuts in the apple cider mix before setting them onto a wire rack. My son absolutely inhaled his and half of mine! Excellent, Excellent. THANKS! Will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I only used this recipe for the doughnut, not the apple cider glaze, but the doughnut was wonderful! The texture was very soft, a bit stretchy, and oh so good. I would love to make them again with a variety of different glaze flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awilson614

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
These were good and I even used the apple cider glaze but I don't think I let the apple cider reduce long enough so the glaze never dried. I used them in my donut hole baker and they came out good. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
My husband made these and they didnt turn out tasting like a donut. I'm not sure why, but im going to make them next time and see what went wrong. Very easy recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
These are the most amazing light weight doughnuts! Grumpy said they were the best doughnuts I have ever made :0) I got about 2 dozen doughnuts and ran out of glaze before I was done so I mixed a tablespoon of butter with 1/2 cup powdered sugar and about 2 tablespoons pure maple syrup and frosted the last 6. YUMMY! Definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I tried this recipe and, while it was tasty, the doughnut was incredibly heavy. I mean just one probably weighed close to 3 pounds, and they had the typical 4-5 inches in diameter. I'm going to try this again, but this time I think I'll allow the dough to rise overnight...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
These were really easy to make. They came out really good! The glaze was very sweet. My kids loved them as well and would like me to make them every Sunday. I will be asking for a doughnut cutter for Christmas so I can make these again. :) Thank you for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
My daughter and I made these together with no changes, except that we rolled the holes in cinnamon-sugar. These were awesome and all the girls at our Halloween sleepover loved these for breakfast in the morning. This will become one of our regular donut recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Wow!! So easy and delicious! Very light and fluffy. They were gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States