Apple Cider Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Laura Smooch Blackburn
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I love this was very good, lots of flavor. i did use Beef Stock instead of the water. I add some parsley and some fresh cracked pepper to taste. I recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I followed the recipe on the ingredients, but I placed it in the crockpot to cook. I was having high hopes for this recipe. I love the simplicity of it; as well as, the idea of the apple cider. I was somewhat disappointed; however, on the taste being too "vinegar-y". One has to like vinegar really well to like this 'as written'. I WILL make this again... BUT to my personal taste, and I will lessen the vinegar quite a bit. Thanks for submitting such an interesting recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Yum, yum ... but too sweet for this Connecticut Yankee. I added a bit of lemon zest and juice to temper this sweetness. I also added more salt and lots of pepper to help boost the blandness through the sweet. Also, just brown the meat, then simmer in the stew. If the meat is overcooked, then it will make the meat overly boring and chewy adding little of the meat's flavor to the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Absolutely delicious. We followed the instructions to the letter, apart from adding some celery leaves before the simmering got started. The broth is so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This stew is excellent! It will be in my meal list while cider stays in season! It was perfect for a cold rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Everyone in the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Absolutely delicious, even though I forgot to add the apple! This has been added to my personal cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
OK. different flavor. not great but nut unpleasant. not sure i will make again. I liked it more than hubs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I was excited to try this recipe and the rave reviews made it sound so good. I followed the directions and was really disappointed. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dundalk, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Yum! I'm making it for the second time in two weeks due to popular demand. The entire family loved it and it is good enough to make for company too (even your in-laws!) I followed the recipe exactly the first time and there wasn't much to change. I did need to double the flour mixture (I ran out the first time) and to save time, I put the flour mixture into a sealed container, added a few pieces of beef at a time, and gave it a good shake. This was a lot faster than rolling pieces individually in the flour like I did the first time. Make sure you brown the meat in batches don't crowd the cubes in the pan or it will steam rather than get the nice crispy brown crust you want. It will spatter quite a bit so use a splatter screen if you have one. I was worried about browning the meat too much as I thought it might overcook. Do not worry! The meat is soooo tender when the stew is done that there is absolutely no need to worry about overcooking it during browning. After you add the cider, vinegar and water, wait a few minutes before adding the meat back to the pan. Let the liquids start to get hot and loosen the yummy brown bits on the bottom of the pan. The recipe didn't specify whether or not to peel the apple. I didn't and the only thing that happened is that there were some pieces of well-cooked apple peel in the stew. Tasty, maybe good fiber, so whether or not to peel the apple is up to you. All in all, a great recipe! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Beef Stew with Roasted Winter Vegetables

This hearty stew is fresh and flavorful, and makes a great comfort-food meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States