Apple Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I have to give this recipe a 5 because it won me our mock-Iron Chef competition! We put it over pheasant, we used red wine vinegar instead and it turned out great. Just the right amount of tang and sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROZ21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hauptstuhl, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
A great base recipe b/c it alllows you to add and substitute many ingredients so you can make it your own. I used nutmeg, cinnamon, plain old vinegar, and ground ginger, a small amount of maple bacon to make it my own. GREAT with pork chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
We will have this chutney along with our x-mas roast tomorrow on Christmas Eve. I prepared it today and just to make sure we won't be disappointed we all had a spoonful. Wow, we love it! It is soo delicious and I'm sure it will become one of our family favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
It was just liked baked apples. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WM Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I hosted a dinner for 50 and 5 x the recipe so everyone would have a quarter cup portion. I used pears and it turned out fabulously! I cooked it a little longer than recommended and it was better the second day. Everyone loved it. Definitely a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
I needed pear Chutney and I will change this one to smy needs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This recipe is wonderful! Just the right blend of spices. Perfect as a side dish for those fall recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Excellent! I used old, mushy, sweet apples (decreased the sugar) and it turned out great. Next time, I'll use less ginger since it was a bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Great flavor and very easy to make. The ginger really packs a punch so don't over do it. Watch the yield because it makes alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I followed the recipe, and it turned out too vinegary. Maybe use white vinegar instead of white wine vinegar? I'm not sure what I did wrong, but it's not good. It's OK except for the vinegar after-bite, which is intense. I'll go short on the vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States