Apple Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This is amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
My husband and I really enjoyed this. We put it over pork tenderloin and it was a nice sub for the usual applesauce. I only gave it 4 stars because it called for a variety of spices and the only one I could really taste was cinnamon. I reduced the yield to 8 and there was still a huge amount left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Easy to make and great! I added a dash of red pepper for a little kick, and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I followed the recipe, and it turned out too vinegary. Maybe use white vinegar instead of white wine vinegar? I'm not sure what I did wrong, but it's not good. It's OK except for the vinegar after-bite, which is intense. I'll go short on the vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I've kept the onion and the ginger in with the apples. This is a wonderful tasting condiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
We really enjoyed putting this apple chutney on chicken breast, even better with cheese melted on it. I chopped onion and ginger into it. Very simple and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I halved the recipe. I put 1 whole cardamom pod and about 10 white peppercorns in a tea ball and buried it under the apples. Used red wine vinegar, and Cortland apples which held their shape. This was delicious with our Thanksgiving meal, and wonderful with leftovers. Could be good as a dessert with some local ginger ice cream....will not be waiting until next Thanksgiving to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TFRach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This was so good. I also substituted black pepper for the white pepper, and used red wine vinegar, because that's what I had. I only made 1/3 the recipe, and it was more than enough for 5 people with plenty leftover (which I then heated and put on top of vanilla ice cream :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. We substituted black pepper for the white pepper and added about 1 tsp of red chili flakes for some bite. Just wonderful served with goat cheese on crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This was a huge hit in our home. We had it with a pork loin dinner, deli turkey roll-ups for lunch, and home-made lamb burgers with feta cheese another night. I plan to make another batch of chutney and try it with a thick halibut steak. It is very versatile. I did use red wine vinegar instead of white and added about 1/2c or raisins and 1/2c finely sliced died apricot for interest. It needed more water and next time I'll just go ahead and double the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnamosk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States