Apple Chicken Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Super healthy dish. Colorful. Followed the directions completely. Tasted it. As most people have said it's really bland. So at that point I added some Kikkoman Stir Fry Sauce. Much better after that. I would recommend not putting the onions in right away with the carrots. They become completely wilted. Also it doesn't reheat very well so it's not a dish I would recommend making extra to bring to work the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Bila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
My family loves this recipe when I use the suggestions of others and add fresh sugar snap peas, water chestnuts and a great sweet and sour sauce. They like white rice and I concede to that request, but the brown rice is best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Used onion powder in lieu of actual onions, and added broccoli florets. Then I covered it with sweet and sour. Delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
It's ok. Has great potential but is very plain. I added soya sauce to the rice and sweet & sour to the stir fry and I still found it bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This was a great base recipe. My family found it to be a little bland. I will use this as a jumping off recipe though. I would use sesame oil and put either soy sauce or lemon in it next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
China produces about a third of the world's apples, so it shouldn't be surprising to find it as an ingredient in this oriental dish. What a nice addition ! It was also a good way to use up some leftover cooked chicken. I used white rice, but added a little soy sauce for colour and flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Love the ease. I keep Chinese 5 spice on the shelf, added some and marinated the chix in teriyaki before hand. Excellent. Family love the secret ingredient - apple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
A great quick weeknight meal. I added some sweet thai chili sauce for a little extra flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I thought the original recipe was a bit bland so I added more apples. I also substituted the pea pods for frozen peas and added frozen corn. Much better with additional veggies/fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States