Apple Chicken Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Super healthy dish. Colorful. Followed the directions completely. Tasted it. As most people have said it's really bland. So at that point I added some Kikkoman Stir Fry Sauce. Much better after that. I would recommend not putting the onions in right away with the carrots. They become completely wilted. Also it doesn't reheat very well so it's not a dish I would recommend making extra to bring to work the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristyb114

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
My family loves this recipe when I use the suggestions of others and add fresh sugar snap peas, water chestnuts and a great sweet and sour sauce. They like white rice and I concede to that request, but the brown rice is best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Used onion powder in lieu of actual onions, and added broccoli florets. Then I covered it with sweet and sour. Delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
It's ok. Has great potential but is very plain. I added soya sauce to the rice and sweet & sour to the stir fry and I still found it bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This was a great base recipe. My family found it to be a little bland. I will use this as a jumping off recipe though. I would use sesame oil and put either soy sauce or lemon in it next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
China produces about a third of the world's apples, so it shouldn't be surprising to find it as an ingredient in this oriental dish. What a nice addition ! It was also a good way to use up some leftover cooked chicken. I used white rice, but added a little soy sauce for colour and flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Love the ease. I keep Chinese 5 spice on the shelf, added some and marinated the chix in teriyaki before hand. Excellent. Family love the secret ingredient - apple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
A great quick weeknight meal. I added some sweet thai chili sauce for a little extra flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I thought the original recipe was a bit bland so I added more apples. I also substituted the pea pods for frozen peas and added frozen corn. Much better with additional veggies/fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States