Apple Cheese Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This is a great option for a savory loaf. Turned out perfectly. I did use walnuts which were great in the bread. The soup went very well with our squash and pear soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Beaumont, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by N Morski
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I made the recipe as is except I chopped both the cheese and the apple and did not grate them. It is a wonderful bread and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N Morski
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This is SO good! I used gala apples and marble cheese as it was all I had, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
It doesn't really have much taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I really enjoyed this bread. Since I was going to give them away as a Christmas treat I made this bread in a mini-muffin tin which makes them great as a take-away breakfast meal/treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I did not think this combo came together well at all. In fairness, I used white cheddar instead of swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Incredible recipe. I can't give it the full five stars, but only because I had to vary the recipe a bit with the ingredients I had on hand. I made mine with two VERY large Gala apples, and didn't want to shred them so I just minced them really well. I also used cheddar instead of Swiss just because I had a bag of cheddar I had to get rid of. I didn't know how much 4oz. would be, so I added a good large 3 or 4 handfuls of the cheese. And I definetly recommend spraying or greasing the pan pretty well, in response to a previous reviewer. I did, and it slid out no problem. Even with my changes, the flavours blended subtely and beautifuly, especially with the whole-wheat flour in there. I plan on making this again and again, and I'll definetly try with GrannySmith and Swiss, considering I put those on wraps for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
I just didn't care for the combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
The only reason I didn't rate this recipe 5 stars is that I had a serious sticking problem. I ended up breaking both loaves in half removing them from the pan. It may be that apples and cheddar are a natural combination for me, it may be that I despise Swiss cheese in anything, or it may be that cheddar is what I had on hand, but I used sharp cheddar in this recipe. It was delicious. Also used a combination of apples on hand (Spy, Winesap, Johnathon) instead of Granny Smith which is bland when cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
This was OK. The combination of cheese & apple just did not work for us (I guess we're just more into apple & cinnamon). I can understand how someone with different tastes could appreciate it more, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States