Apple Cheddar Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
pretty good...they were very dense though. I used whole wheat flour instead. Great with a little left over sugar sauce from apple dumplings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarence, New York, USA
Living In: Walworth, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
I found these scones to be a hit! They were fluffy and flavorful and Great with Apple butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirklyn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I had trouble with this recipe, which I followed to the letter. The dough was too sticky to pat out, and they took twice as long to bake. While they were still warm, they tasted doughy, although they were better cold. I love scones, but these were disappointing. I'll try again, in case variables like humid weather make a dif, but overall I was sad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenonymous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I made Peach Cheddar Scones, and was not real pleased. The dough needs revision--either less buttermilk or more flour! The taste was decent. I needed to bake these at 425, and they baked in the correct amount of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
First time to make scones (although I'm an avid baker) and they were AMAZING! I did do some research first and tweaked it a little though. I read on another recipe that the milk, like this one, was too much, so I used only 2/3 cup whole milk (didn't have buttermilk on hand). I also baked at 350 for about 15mins. 450 degrees is WAY to high. I froze the butter and used a hand grater to grate it into the flour mixture and it made the process much easier. Very very good recipe if you use a little less milk and lower temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
These were just what I was looking for. Not too sweet, not too savory. I made a biscuit sandwich out of it with ham and eggs inside the cut biscuit. I did reduce the oven temp to 425 degrees. They would tend to burn easily with the cheddar and apples in them. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I'm with everyone else. They weren't the right consistency. Maybe less buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
VERY good scones. Reduced the milk to 2/3 cup and cooked at 375 for 20 minutes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Remarkably good, and easy to make. I usually bake with rice flour because of a wheat allergy, which almost always requires me to "fiddle" with dry and wet proportions, so the reviews were even more help on what to expect. I use 2 cups of white rice flour, and about 3/4 cup of buttermilk, and then bake at 375 for about 23 minutes. They have turned out well for me every time - maybe too well, since we eat them up quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States