Apple, Carrot, Or Zucchini Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This is a good recipe. I did add about 1/2 c less sugar and egg replacer powder in stead of eggs. We used half apple, half zucchini. It is quite moist and definitely didn't need more water. The veg content releases more liquid as it cooks so the batter may seem thick but as long as it's combining I think it's fine. Thanks very much for posting this easily vegan-ized recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
A great recipe to use up fruit and vegetable pulp from a juicer. You can use anything. My pulp from a few juices consisted of sweet potato, orange, Apple, romaine lettuce, celery, cucumber, lemon, and carrots. It still turned out yummy. You may have to add some liquid with this method. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Made it with the adaptations that many of you suggested, less sugar, whole wheat flour, and it is great! I will be making this a lot...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This cake was great! But you do need to add a little more of the spices, and I only used 1 1/2 c. sugar instead of 2 c. and that was plenty. I used 3 c. zuccini and 1 c. carrots. Very easy to make - I used a 9X 13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Love this cake. I made it with shredded zucchini but can't wait to try it with apple or carrot. I made it in 2 8x8 pans & frosted it with homemade cream cheese frosting - delish. I gave one to a friend & she LOVED it. The cake is not very sweet so the cream cheese frosting is a nice touch. I am sure it would make a good quick bread or muffins, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Made this with the combination of apples, zucchini and carrots. Used in dbl recipe 2/3 cup oil and the rest apple sauce. This made a sheet cake size pan and it was enjoyed. Bake longer because of the pan size. It was for VBS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
LOVE this! I'm aiming for healthy, so my adjustments are as follows: half white flour & half wheat, 1 cup brown sugar (PLENTY sweet!), about 1/3 cup Canola oil + apple sauce to equal required 1/2 cup, added about 1 cup of raisins, which contributes to the sweetness. Used 1 apple, 1 medium yellow zucchini, 2 large carrots, to equal 4 cups combined. All other ingredients the same. Baked for 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Delicious! (with a few minor adjustments) 3 cups carrot / 1 cup apple 1 cup sugar 3 eggs instead of nutmeg - 1/4 tsp all spice + 1/8 tsp cloves I made cupcakes (15 minutes @ 350 degree) and they turned out light yet very moist at the same time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkfiresky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I've been baking for over 45 years and have never found a recipe for a Carrot Cake that is as moist, delicous, and rich as this one! The best part is that the ingredients are as simple and wholesome as they come. My only substitutions were (if you can call them subs), freshly grated nutmeg and cinnamon. Hats off to the creator of this recipe, you could have not done any better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
very moist! made as specified, used 1/2 zucchini, other half green tomatoes, carrot and apples. next time I might even use a bit more flour, but this was very good,we will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States