Apple, Carrot, Or Zucchini Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 12, 2007
I LOVE this cake! I made it for 9 servings so it could fit in a loaf pan (which took longer to cook by about 20 min.). I used 1 apple and 2 carrots, reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup, and added raisins, a bit of vanilla and flax seeds and sunflower seeds instead of walnuts. It added a bit of a nutty flavour and texture and was delicious! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I made a version of this (3 cups of apple, 1 cup of carrot) into cupcakes (I made 24, but some of them were pretty small) with cream cheese frosting and they were oh-so-good. The cupcakes were moist and not too sweet. I think I'd try adding a little vanilla next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vincci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
really great! I make it all the time...so easy and good! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Huntington Station, New York, USA
Living In: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I like this recipe because it is so versatile. I use the zucchini and whole wheat flour and it turns out good. I think it needs to be baked longer though because it stays so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Cake was very moist. I chose to cook at a lower temperature (325) for about an hour. It was still very moist, but would've been okay if cooked for another 5 or so minutes. I used raw cane sugar and honey instead of white sugar. I didn't have any vegetable oil and didn't want to use butter, so I used Olive Oil (only kind of oil I had) Will use recipe again and experiment with different vegetables. Very yummy, if you like spice/sponge cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
This is an excellent and very easy cake - just go very easy on the sugar. I'm not a pro cook/baker and this cake turned out perfectly. I made it with 2.5 cups of apples and 1.5 cups of carrots. It wasn't too moist at all, and it baked in under 35 min in my oven. I followed the recipe exactly, except 1) I only had one egg, so added 2tbsp ground flax seeds and 1/8 cup water to substitute for the other and 2) I only added 1/2 cup of white sugar and this was more than enough. It's only been out of the oven for about 20 minutes, and it's already 2/3rds gone! I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
I made this cake with apple only. I took a previous reviewers advice and added 2 eggs and 1/2 cup oil. I also used some cloves & allspice along with the cinnamon and some nutmeg. After grating the apples, I let the juice settle at the bottom of the bowl and did NOT add the juice to the recipe to avoid excess wetness. I cooked it in 2 cake pans, one was a regular round cake pan, and the other a much darker square pan. The cake cooked perfectly in the darker pan, it cooked quicker and more evenly, whereas the cake in the 9" round pan took way longer, was a bit overdone and a still a bit wet on the inside. Both cakes took a LOT longer than 40mins, which Im assuming why previous reviewers state having a way to wet cake. You have to test it with a wooden skewer and keep cooking till its done. I frosted the cakes with a cream cheese frosting, and the cake that didnt work out so well was fine after sitting in fridge overnight with frosting. The overdone exterior was softened by the frosting, and the wet inner part firmed up. All in all, not too bad with the few changes to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I really like this recipe with zucchini, because it isn't as greasy as most zucchini "bread" recipes. Sometimes I add raisins, instead of walnuts, which I think goes really well with the zucchini. Also, I often substitute whole wheat flour for half of the flour, which gives it a nice heartier texture. This recipe is very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
This was moist, dense, and had a weird taste to it. It tasted just OK when it was warm, and I had high hopes for it when it cooled. NOPE! Much better warm. I made this with apples and carrots, and it was just IKKY! Not the texture of cake even, this was NOT what I was looking for! Sorry to the poster, nothing personal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
This recipe was very easy and came out delicious. I didn't add frosting, whipped cream, or anything. It was great just plain with a glass of milk. I liked that it called for a lot of fruit/veggies and a small amount of oil, so it was a relatively healthy dessert. I made it with a mixture of apples and crookneck squash. I'm excited to try it with carrots. I think what makes this so great is that it's moist and the spice mixture is just right. I did cut down on the sugar a bit because I don't like things really sweet. I was originally going to give it four stars because it was so moist that it was almost gooey, but the next day it had dried out just a little bit, and it was much better. I wish I could give it four and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL

Displaying results 71-80 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States