Apple, Carrot, Or Zucchini Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I have made this with half apples and half zuchinni very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
GREAT!!!!!!Y\That is one of the best cakes ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This tastes interesting & it's nice for a change. I'm not sure it was worth the effort of shredding all that apple, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Excellent recipe, and I like it has half the oil of most recipes. My favorite mix is half carrot, half zucchini. The only warning is you'd best paper the pan if you're wanting to unmold it. It stuck badly to my pans, when I rarely have that trouble with other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ali

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I made this with half shredded carrots and half shredded apples. I frosted it with a cream cheese/whipped cream frosting. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Lukow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Everyone who tried this raved over it! My friend said it was the best carrot cake she ever had. I followed the recipe exact, but needed to bake it for 45 mins. I made my own cream cheese frosting by blending 8oz of cream cheese, 2 heaping tablespoons of cool whip, 1/2 tsp of vanilla and half cup of sugar (use a little less if u dont like a real sweet frosting)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Delicious! I did reduce the amount of sugar to 1 1/4 cups to make it a tad healthier. The thickness of the batter can be disconcerting, but adding the vegetables definitely smoothens the batter to a perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoodCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This recipe is AWSOME!! I actually used all 3!! (carrot, zucc., and apple) It was very moist and had a really great flavor. I topped it with a not tooo sweet cream cheese frosting. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Used carrots, really great cake! I liked the texture. Had to leave it in 5-10 minutes longer to cook through (these tiny european stoves are very unpredictable). The outsides was nice and crisp/chewy with a lovely cakey interior. The cinnamon added a nice taste. Very solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Very Good!! I made this "my way" but still credit the author for the submission and idea. I used 3 cups carrots and 1 cup granny smith apple. I did not have any nutmeg, so I used allspice instead ,plus, I added 1 tbs. ginger along with the listed spices. I used splenda, instead of sugar. 1 cup only. In place of two whole eggs, I used one egg and two egg whites. 1/4 cup smart balance omega light, buttery spread (this only has 40 calories per tbls) and another 1/4 cup oil to make up the half cup oil called for. I toasted my walnuts in my toaster oven. This gives it a more robust flavor, I think. I put all my wet ingredients in the bowl first, fruit veggies and all, then added the flour, spices, etc. I lined the bottom of the baking dish with pineapple rings that are not sweetened, then poured a little of the pineapple juice in the batter to moisten it better. Placed batter on top of pineapple and baked for 40 minutes at 325. Let cool then made cream cheese frosting with fat-free cream cheese, splenda, fat and sugar free cool whip, vanilla extract.. then ate...yum, yum !!This is so rich tasting, no one would ever guess that I had made these substitutions from the taste! My hubbie loved this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie Beck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States