Apple, Carrot, Or Zucchini Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I made this with half shredded carrots and half shredded apples. I frosted it with a cream cheese/whipped cream frosting. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Lukow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Everyone who tried this raved over it! My friend said it was the best carrot cake she ever had. I followed the recipe exact, but needed to bake it for 45 mins. I made my own cream cheese frosting by blending 8oz of cream cheese, 2 heaping tablespoons of cool whip, 1/2 tsp of vanilla and half cup of sugar (use a little less if u dont like a real sweet frosting)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Delicious! I did reduce the amount of sugar to 1 1/4 cups to make it a tad healthier. The thickness of the batter can be disconcerting, but adding the vegetables definitely smoothens the batter to a perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoodCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This recipe is AWSOME!! I actually used all 3!! (carrot, zucc., and apple) It was very moist and had a really great flavor. I topped it with a not tooo sweet cream cheese frosting. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Used carrots, really great cake! I liked the texture. Had to leave it in 5-10 minutes longer to cook through (these tiny european stoves are very unpredictable). The outsides was nice and crisp/chewy with a lovely cakey interior. The cinnamon added a nice taste. Very solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Very Good!! I made this "my way" but still credit the author for the submission and idea. I used 3 cups carrots and 1 cup granny smith apple. I did not have any nutmeg, so I used allspice instead ,plus, I added 1 tbs. ginger along with the listed spices. I used splenda, instead of sugar. 1 cup only. In place of two whole eggs, I used one egg and two egg whites. 1/4 cup smart balance omega light, buttery spread (this only has 40 calories per tbls) and another 1/4 cup oil to make up the half cup oil called for. I toasted my walnuts in my toaster oven. This gives it a more robust flavor, I think. I put all my wet ingredients in the bowl first, fruit veggies and all, then added the flour, spices, etc. I lined the bottom of the baking dish with pineapple rings that are not sweetened, then poured a little of the pineapple juice in the batter to moisten it better. Placed batter on top of pineapple and baked for 40 minutes at 325. Let cool then made cream cheese frosting with fat-free cream cheese, splenda, fat and sugar free cool whip, vanilla extract.. then ate...yum, yum !!This is so rich tasting, no one would ever guess that I had made these substitutions from the taste! My hubbie loved this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie Beck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I found that the recipe doesn't have a lot of liquid ingredients to actually make a batter. I followed the recipe to a "T" but I found myself adding milk to it to make it into a batter. The end result was still very good I will definately make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This recipe is GREAT! What I love is that it's so versatile - I used about 5 apples and 2 carrots, used a little less than half the sugar called for, and substituted half of the all-purpose flour for whole wheat. The cake came out amazing. It's perfect for breakfast and everyone in my house is gobbling it up. Its neither too moist or too dry for the amount of oil and juices in it. Any kind of frosting or glaze would be yummy to make it more of a dessert, but I love this cake just as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shanna
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Delicious and moist, easy to make. Like many others I used half carrot half apple, and I omitted the walnuts and added a dash of vanilla essence. Also, I found that my mixture was a bit too dough-like so I added maybe a couple of tablespoons of milk, but I think that was just because I used too much flour. Plus, it's healthy(ish)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Pretty tasty cake. I used half apples and half carrots to yield the 4 cups of shredded fruits and/or veggies. I also added about a tablespoon of dried ginger (fresh would be great too) which is a wonderful flavor with both apples and carrots. I do agree that the final product was slightly overly wet. Next time I will let the veggies sit for about a half of an hour and squeeze out and remove about half of the excess liquid. You need a little of the liquid because the batter is quite dry before adding the veggies. I topped it with a drizzled hard vanilla glaze, but would be good with just dusting with powdered sugar, some plain or flavored whipped cream, cream cheese icing, or just by itself. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States