Apple, Carrot, Or Zucchini Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Margy
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Extremely moist and delicious! I made some adjustments to make it even healthier. I used 2 cups carrots and 2 cups apple, all whole wheat flour, brown sugar instead of white (only one cup, still very sweet), .5 cup walnuts, .5 cup raisins, and yogurt instead of oil. If made with all apples, .5 cup sugar would probably be plenty. Great with brown or powdered sugar sprinkled on top. I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Great cake! Very thick batter until I added the grated fruit/veggies. I used about 1/2 apple, 1/2 carrot. Topped it with cream cheese frosting (made from this site). Split into 2 8" squares (was sharing 1 cake w/a friend) and had some for us too! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Very happy with end result. I made with shredded baby carrots and I substituted half the sugar with Splenda. Made a very nice cake, not too sweet. Will probably make again and will try apples and zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This is a great cake! I used 1 zucchini and the rest apple. I iced it with cool-whip that I had added cinnamon and powered sugar to. My dinner guests were a bit skeptical, but we very pleasantly surprised. Even my 6 yr old son who refuses to eat any dessert that contains fruit asked for more! The only 2 changes I made were to omit the walnuts and use less sugar (only 1 1/4C). Will definitely make this one again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Family, friends and coworkers all love this cake! I made it with half apples and half zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I made it with Apple and carrot combined, my family ate the entire cake in less than 2 days. I added 1/2 tsp of ginger and iced with a 7 minute icing with 1 tsp of instant mulling spice added. Absolutely stupendous! My family is pesting everyday for me to make another one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kutztown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I made this with zucchini from my garden, and it was amazing. Moist and light at the same time. I frosted it with a cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. I halfed the recipe and used a squared cake pan. I didn't want to make too much in case we didn't like it, but it was really good. I topped it with coconut which gave it a really nice sweetness. Very moist and delightful! My husband enjoyed it and my poor child didn't even get a chance to taste it thanks to her dad! It was dense which is why I gave it 4 stars, but that didn't take away from the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I used only 1 1/2 cups of sugar and it was still plenty sweet. I used 2 cups of zucchini and 2 cups of apple, 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of regular flour. I ground up the nuts finely and I replaced the oil with applesauce. Made 1/2 the batter out of mini muffins (bake for 18 minutes) and one loaf pan. My picky 5 1/5 year old ate them up like candy! Absolutely delicious!! Will be making these over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I made this for a family dessert because it was fast and I had all the ingredients handy, I made it with apples and had it warm with ice-cream.. and later on its own cooled. Was ok but not great. didn't get any compliments with this one that I usually get :( If I make it again It will be carrot version with cream cheese frosting..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by racincake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark

Displaying results 51-60 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States