Apple, Carrot, Or Zucchini Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
My family gobbled this up. I used all three zucchini, carrots and apples for the fun of it and it was yummy. I added choc. frosting and it complimented it perfectly. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Used half carrots and half zucchini, half white and half brown sugar, half white/half whole wheat flour, added some chocolate chips and cardamom and made muffins. It turned out perfect even with all the changes. An easy flexible recipe for when the garden goodies start piling up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This is a great cake! Very moist. I did this with 2 cups each zucchini and carrots. added pecans, and baked in 2 9" pans. Good as a snack cake without any frosting or whipped cream, which I am sure will add to it's wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This was a a very good cake !! I did this cake with zucchini and it turned out fantastic !! but what I did was add 1 cup raisins and 1/2 cup coconut . then frosted it with cream cheese frosting! WOW!!! must try !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Really easy and fast to make. I only used 1 cup of sugar, and it was sweet enough for me. I used 1 granny smith apple, and one very large carrot. It was a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This is a quick and easy recipe. I love it and the family loved it. I made it with fresh carrots from the garden and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Webster, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I made this with the zucchini and my boys who are very picky loved it. If people would follow the recipe it would not be too moist or too dry. It is just right and is exceptional if you frost it with a cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I like this and have been eating it for breakfast. I tried it with 2 cups of zucchini & 1 cup of apples & used some applesauce & 1/4 cup of oil & cut way back on the sugar about 1 1/4 cups brown sugar. It turned out almost too moist...so next time I might add a little more flour...but really has a lot of great flavor. I want to try the carrots next time. Thanks for the base of a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I think this cake is the best, without any revisions!! I have always made it with zucchini or yellow squash - maybe that is why those who used apples found it too sweet. I use this recipe because it uses so much less oil. I get compliments and am asked for the recipe every time I make it. I've always topped it with cream cheese frosting. I have substituted pecans when out of walnuts, or just omitted the nuts but find it best with nuts included. I want to make it with carrots sometime. It also turned out good when I didn't have enough zucchini to measure 4 cups, with only 2 cups or so. Thanks Carla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Margy
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Extremely moist and delicious! I made some adjustments to make it even healthier. I used 2 cups carrots and 2 cups apple, all whole wheat flour, brown sugar instead of white (only one cup, still very sweet), .5 cup walnuts, .5 cup raisins, and yogurt instead of oil. If made with all apples, .5 cup sugar would probably be plenty. Great with brown or powdered sugar sprinkled on top. I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States