Apple, Carrot, Or Zucchini Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This really is a strange cake - in a good way - I JUST can't get enough of it. YES it is gooey, but gooey in a good way. The batter starts out pretty crumbly, but no need to fear that (and no need to alter the recipe), after adding the Apple/Carrot/Zucchini(mixture) it get's the right consistency. I found out that kneading the batter with hands, after adding the veggie-stuff, is a viable option, since my mixer always gets stuck in the "crumbly" batter. Hope this helps. ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
My family gobbled this up. I used all three zucchini, carrots and apples for the fun of it and it was yummy. I added choc. frosting and it complimented it perfectly. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Used half carrots and half zucchini, half white and half brown sugar, half white/half whole wheat flour, added some chocolate chips and cardamom and made muffins. It turned out perfect even with all the changes. An easy flexible recipe for when the garden goodies start piling up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This is a great cake! Very moist. I did this with 2 cups each zucchini and carrots. added pecans, and baked in 2 9" pans. Good as a snack cake without any frosting or whipped cream, which I am sure will add to it's wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This was a a very good cake !! I did this cake with zucchini and it turned out fantastic !! but what I did was add 1 cup raisins and 1/2 cup coconut . then frosted it with cream cheese frosting! WOW!!! must try !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Really easy and fast to make. I only used 1 cup of sugar, and it was sweet enough for me. I used 1 granny smith apple, and one very large carrot. It was a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This is a quick and easy recipe. I love it and the family loved it. I made it with fresh carrots from the garden and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Webster, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I made this with the zucchini and my boys who are very picky loved it. If people would follow the recipe it would not be too moist or too dry. It is just right and is exceptional if you frost it with a cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I like this and have been eating it for breakfast. I tried it with 2 cups of zucchini & 1 cup of apples & used some applesauce & 1/4 cup of oil & cut way back on the sugar about 1 1/4 cups brown sugar. It turned out almost too moist...so next time I might add a little more flour...but really has a lot of great flavor. I want to try the carrots next time. Thanks for the base of a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I think this cake is the best, without any revisions!! I have always made it with zucchini or yellow squash - maybe that is why those who used apples found it too sweet. I use this recipe because it uses so much less oil. I get compliments and am asked for the recipe every time I make it. I've always topped it with cream cheese frosting. I have substituted pecans when out of walnuts, or just omitted the nuts but find it best with nuts included. I want to make it with carrots sometime. It also turned out good when I didn't have enough zucchini to measure 4 cups, with only 2 cups or so. Thanks Carla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States