Apple, Carrot, Or Zucchini Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
As a combination apple carrot cake - this is wonderful! Topped with butter cream frosting it is addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I used shredded zucchini and this cake was fabulous! Loved it! It was very moist. I used the Nutty Cream Cheese frosting from this site and it was a wonderful cake that everyone loved! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz_hughes78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I tried the zucchini variation of this and it was much too sweet for my taste. I ended up having to throw the whole thing away because no one wanted to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
this is the best carrot cake recipe I've ever made. So easy and super delicious. I added a handful of shredded coconut and raisins as well. Am making a load more to freeze and enjoy later on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Love this cake! We used a combination of apples and carrots, substituted one cup of flour for whole wheat, and reduced the sugar by about half a cup. I'm also pretty sure we used more than four cups of apples and carrots. The result was an incredibly moist, flavourful dessert. We enjoyed it with tea and a scoop of caramel, pecan crunch frozen yogurt. We'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I agree with you Carla. This is a terrific cake! I made it using 2 c. carrots and 2 c. zucchini and I used raisins instead of nuts. I had a bit of cream cheese icing in the fridge, so put that on and it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponoka, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I came across this recipe by chance and I am so pleased I did as it seems so versatile and it makes a very nice cake. I just used what ingrediants I had at hand,so I used 2 courgettes 1/2cup of brown sugar, I did not have any oil so I used 1/4cup of margerine ( like I said its just what I had at hand). I used almonds instead of walnuts and sprinkled a few on top for decoration just before they went in the oven. I also added raisins to my mixture,and when the cake was just out of the oven and warm I put a tbsp of honey over the cake and let it spread over the top while warm. I actually made some muffins and a loaf cake,both were wonderful. This is now one of my my 'keeper' recipes as there are so many diffiernt combinations to try out with this recipe and texture of it is lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This was fantastic! I used 1/4 c. applesauce and 1/4 c. oil and could not tell a difference. I will try again with all applesauce. I baked in a cookie sheet and omitted the nuts, but sprinkled the top with raisins and chocolate chips for a more brownie size cake. These are deliciously soft and moist and flavorful. I used part carrot and part zuchinni. My 2 1/2 year old picky daughter, who literally gags on most vegis, loves it. I also reduced the sugar to about 1 1/2 cups (ish) and notice no difference. I will try again with all applesauce replacing the oil and 1 cup of sugar to try and make this as healthy of a snack as possible. Use whole wheat flour and add some flax seed, too, if you have it. This will not disappoint. I am certain it will freeze well if it stays around long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I changed it up a little, didn't have the right kind of apples (dessert apples are far too sweet, always use baking apples!!) so I did 2 cups zucchini and 2 cups carrot!! Also switched out the eggs for egg replacer, left out the walnuts, and it tastes great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
We loved this cake. I used all zucchini, only 1.25 cups of white sugar, 1 full tablespoon of cinnamon and 1/2 cup of applesauce. I also threw in a handful of coconut...finished this today and making another one already. I liked this to eat for breakfast as it was more like a dense bread than a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States