Apple, Carrot, Or Zucchini Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
LOVE this! I'm aiming for healthy, so my adjustments are as follows: half white flour & half wheat, 1 cup brown sugar (PLENTY sweet!), about 1/3 cup Canola oil + apple sauce to equal required 1/2 cup, added about 1 cup of raisins, which contributes to the sweetness. Used 1 apple, 1 medium yellow zucchini, 2 large carrots, to equal 4 cups combined. All other ingredients the same. Baked for 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Delicious! (with a few minor adjustments) 3 cups carrot / 1 cup apple 1 cup sugar 3 eggs instead of nutmeg - 1/4 tsp all spice + 1/8 tsp cloves I made cupcakes (15 minutes @ 350 degree) and they turned out light yet very moist at the same time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkfiresky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I've been baking for over 45 years and have never found a recipe for a Carrot Cake that is as moist, delicous, and rich as this one! The best part is that the ingredients are as simple and wholesome as they come. My only substitutions were (if you can call them subs), freshly grated nutmeg and cinnamon. Hats off to the creator of this recipe, you could have not done any better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
very moist! made as specified, used 1/2 zucchini, other half green tomatoes, carrot and apples. next time I might even use a bit more flour, but this was very good,we will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I was at a friend's home when I made this recipe so I had to make lemonade out of the lemons she had. The muffins came out quite incredible. I could not add nuts so I added raisins instead. I diced a sour apple and added it to the batter. The tangy bite of the apple balanced well the sweetness of the raisins. It sounds like a different recipe but I found these changes worked very well. One of my favorite muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This was the first ever zucchini cake I have made. Turned out so good!! Was a little worried at first because before you add the zucchini the batter is very crumbly, but after the zucchini is added it turns into proper 'batter' I also didn't have any nutmeg on hand so used 1tsp of pumpkin pie spice instead, still turned out great!! I will definitely be making this cake again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gananoque, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I used all zucchini in this cake since I have them stashed on every horizontal surface in my kitchen.... The flavor is great, but I find the texture a little too wet. I'm not sure if 1 cup of zucchini can simply be left out or perhaps reduce the oil by half (which I think you could easily do). I do plan on playing with this recipe because it's very easy and has relatively few ingredients - can be made almost effortlessly. And, as other reviewers suggested, you can be creative with the fruit/vegetables you use. I will also reduce the sugar the next time around. This is definitely a recipe worth tinkering with to make it work for your application.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This is one of the absolutely best cake base recipes I have ever used. I added so far: bananas, apple-pie filling, squash, carrot, pineapple, peach, blueberry-pie filling; each a different cake of course! AND I am not finished with ideas to add. I will admit to using half brown sugar sometimes and I also use 1 tsp. baking powder instead of 2 tsp soda because the soda made it too salty. I often omit the nuts but that is because I am in a rush. I already know this by heart and make it for our BnB guests for EVERY breakfast. They love it and I have had to print out the recipe for them including my additions. So glad I found this recipe. I will never be without a perfect breakfast cake to serve. It freezes amazingly! LOVE IT! LOVE IT! LOVE IT! I can't wait to try other things to add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I made this with zucchini and thought it needed something--maybe vanilla flavoring, a little allspice and less nutmeg. It did taste better after I topped it will cream cheese frosting. Of course anything is good with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by farmgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This cake is divine. Perfect way to use up all that summer zucchini! We like to add cream cheese frostin to ours. This is a very dense, but delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States