Apple Carrot Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I used pecans instead of walnuts and I added a heaping quarter cup of organic raisins. I did bake my muffins at 350* for 20 minutes instead of 400*. Chewy, dense and packed with a great mix of add-in's--my family really liked these muffins. They remind me a little of Morning Glory Muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Now a personal favorite of mine! Delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I shouldn't rate these 4 stars, as I kind of changed the recipe a little bit, and they might have been 5 stars according to the original recipe. Don't know, but I added a little more raisin bran, more apples and more carrots. They seemed a little too bland tasting to me. Think I'd up the sugar--I'm a sugaraholic--, but weren't quite sweet enough for me. Also probably needed to double the salt and the cinnamon. Will try again with those changes, but still add the additional apple and carrot. Might use brown sugar, too. I like this recipe, though, as it's got some healthy things in it. Good way to get some vegetables in the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
The only changes I made were to use bran flakes from the bulk section instead of bran cereal and I added raisins. They turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I make these muffins all the time and my kids and I love them. I don't use raisins or nuts b/c of family preferences, and cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup. They are excellent as is, but even when I make modifications (substitute milk with 1 Tbsp vinegar for buttermilk, increase or decrease sugar, replace some of the flour with WW flour) they turn out very well. They are moist for the first 2 or 3 days in a bag at room temp, but then get stale, so I freeze half to pull out later. Definitely worth a try if you want a yummy, healthy muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Great muffin recipe - nicely spiced and delicious! I love the combination of textures and flavors. I did use the optional walnuts and added a heaping handful of raisins. I used a Texas sized muffin tin and got half a dozen huge muffins. Before popping them in the oven I topped them with a little turbinado sugar for that nice added little crunch. These baked up beautifully at 400 for a little over 20 minutes. Perfect with a cup of hot tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
These were SO GOOD. I didn't change a thing and they came perfect. The second time I made them I omitted the raisins on request from the kids, and still thy were amazingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neen718

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Amazing ! I added a handful of blueberries and a handful or dried cranberries. Like all the other reviews said I reduced the sugar to half. I also used wheat Flour, and milk/vinegar instead of buttermilk.. This recipe deserves all five stars !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misswillco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Really good. I think it needs a streusel topping or a glaze but they are good as is, too. Used pecans instead of walnuts just because I prefer them. I used milk since I didn't have buttermilk. Be sure to chop the apples extra fine. Mine were too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
These are fantastic! First, I love that the batter truly makes 12 regular size muffins. I left out the nuts b/c of allergy issues. I used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup white sugar. I used plain old bran flakes. I wasn't sure if I should crush the cereal or not, so I did just a bit and the texture was great! I added 1/2 tablespoon of nutmeg and 2 tablespoons of apple butter because I wanted a very apply muffin. I also sprinkled with a bit of white sugar before baking. These are simply wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Steubenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lyndhurst, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States