Apple Carrot Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
My whole family loved these muffins. I thought they looked too healthy to be good but boy was I wrong. I freeze them in individual baggies and my kids love to take them to school for snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
I changed these a little. I added 1t more cinnamon, 1t mixed spice, 1t nutmeg, replaced 1/2cup of plain flour with wholemeal flour, replaced 1/2 cup white sugar with brown sugar. I also used 1/2 cup more grated apple. The extra apple makes them very moist. When you haven't got tart apples make sure you reduce the sugar because I didn't think of it and mine were a bit too sweet last time. They're easy to make, the only time consuming bit being the peeling and grating! Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
yummy!! I made a few changes. I substituted applesauce for the oil to make it lower in fat. and I added nutmeg. You could also add splenda instead of sugar if you are diabetic. loose the walnuts and it's lower in fat and calories. However the muffin is really good with the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
I prety much altered this recipe beyond recognition... 1tsp baking powder, 3/4 tsp soda, a full cup carrots, and instead of raisin bran cereal, I used a cup of quick-cooking oatmeal and 3/4 cup of Grape-nuts cereal. AND I dind't have buttermilk, so I used 1/2 cup low fat sour cream and 1/2 cup skim milk. I would decrease the powder next time to 3/4 tsp and add raisins or chopped prunes. They turned out great, not really cake-ey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
These muffins are great! I even added a tbsp. of wheat germ to this wholesome recipe. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
These are yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
These muffins were great. I will definitely use this one again. They keep well in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This recipe is excellent! I was skeptical at first, since the combination of apple and carrots seems odd, but it is delicious! I double the recipe and make 2 loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
Very good and moist, not too sweet. I used a mixture of carrot/tropical fruit juice cocktail and skim milk instead of the buttermilk. I had to buy raisin bran for this recipe because we don't normally have it - my money was not wasted! My 3yo ate 2, which is a feat. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
I made some substitutions, but part of what's great about these is how forgiving they are. I used Special K instead of raisin bran and added in some golden raisins, I used peach yogurt and some cherry juice instead of buttermilk because I didn't have any, and finally very finely chopped pecans instead of walnuts (personal preference). I wasn't too sure when I was putting them into the papers, but they came out great. The fruits and cereal all cooked down. It was a little alarming to see the super chunky batter going into the muffin cups - I thought they would be dry and taste like fruits and veggies. Not the case at all. I even made cream cheese frosting so my picky kids would eat them, but I'll leave it off because they taste good without, and I can freeze them and just eat them myself when I want a snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States