Apple Carrot Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
I changed these a little. I added 1t more cinnamon, 1t mixed spice, 1t nutmeg, replaced 1/2cup of plain flour with wholemeal flour, replaced 1/2 cup white sugar with brown sugar. I also used 1/2 cup more grated apple. The extra apple makes them very moist. When you haven't got tart apples make sure you reduce the sugar because I didn't think of it and mine were a bit too sweet last time. They're easy to make, the only time consuming bit being the peeling and grating! Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
yummy!! I made a few changes. I substituted applesauce for the oil to make it lower in fat. and I added nutmeg. You could also add splenda instead of sugar if you are diabetic. loose the walnuts and it's lower in fat and calories. However the muffin is really good with the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
My whole family loved these muffins. I thought they looked too healthy to be good but boy was I wrong. I freeze them in individual baggies and my kids love to take them to school for snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
These muffins are amazing! I exchanged oatmeal with raisins for the raisin bran and 1 tsp powder and 1/2 tsp soda in place of all that soda. They turned out so light and fluffy - I eat them every morning for breakfast now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
I prety much altered this recipe beyond recognition... 1tsp baking powder, 3/4 tsp soda, a full cup carrots, and instead of raisin bran cereal, I used a cup of quick-cooking oatmeal and 3/4 cup of Grape-nuts cereal. AND I dind't have buttermilk, so I used 1/2 cup low fat sour cream and 1/2 cup skim milk. I would decrease the powder next time to 3/4 tsp and add raisins or chopped prunes. They turned out great, not really cake-ey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
My 4 year old helped me with this recipe. We made this in an 8x8 in baking pan rather than muffin tins (at the last minute I realized I didn't have them...only the miniature) but it turned out good anyway. I added a splash of vanilla extract to the batter and meant to add a mashed banana, but forgot. Good way to sneak in some extra vitamins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Peachy
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I've been looking for a reasonably healthy snack muffin, and these are wonderful! Made a couple of tiny tweaks (to satisfy my mind that these are as healthy as can be). Reduced sugar to 1/2 cup. Replaced 1/2 cup of the flour with oat bran for extra fiber (you can find oat bran with the hot cereals at the grocery). Shredded 3 small granny smith apples (with their peels) and 4 carrots in the food processor. Ended up with more than called for (probably totaling about 2 1/2-3 cups) but put it all into the batter anyway. Based on other raters suggestions, added a smidge of fresh grated nutmeg. I was worried the shift of ingredient balance toward fruit/carrot might mess up the consistency of the final product, but they came out great!! I ended up with more than 12 muffins worth of batter, of course. Since I didn't expect much rise (with the added apple/carrot) I filled muffin cups to the tippy top and mounded the batter a little. Ended up with 15 muffins. As expected, very little rise - but mounding the batter gave them a nice muffin shape (see pic) and they were very light, had a nice texture between sticking together and crumbly. Just PERFECT sweetness, even using tart apples. PS - after freezing - nuke for 20 seconds, then 1 minute in the toaster oven - tastes just like fresh from the oven! PPS - DON'T forget to spray inside paper muffin cups with pam. I forgot once and it was miserable to get the papers off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
Good muffin. I substituted whole wheat flour & used a little less sugar, more carrot and apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
Because my husband is diabetic I used 3/4 Slenda and 1/4 sugar in the recipe and they still were very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
I'm a high school senior, and my younger sister and I are always looking for quick breakfasts to eat on the way to school, so I tried these muffins. The recipe is just so-so, but I'm sure that with some "tweaking" they would be much better. I didn't have raisin bran and I'm not a big fan of raisins, so I used Special K instead. I also didn't have buttermilk so I subbed 3/4 tablespoon of vinegar and enough skim milk to make 3/4 cup. Also I omitted the nuts. One thing I found was that the muffins have a prominent baking soda taste, and they didn't rise very much. Next time -- and I will try these again -- I will use one tsp of baking powder and 1/2 tsp of baking soda instead of the 1 1/4 tsp baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States